Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

A Life in a Year

by anissen - Compo Entry

A small game about life and death.

You guide a young tree in its first year of life. Each season is more demanding that the last. Collect items to grow and prosper.

Controls: Mouse.

Gameplay GIF: http://gfycat.com/KlutzyBouncyGoat

Tools used:
· Code: Haxe
· Game engine: Luxe
· Editor: Atom
· Graphics: Affinity Designer
· Music: Jukedeck
· Sounds: Generated from the MIDI standard

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#28Mood4.13
#63Audio3.83
#68Theme4.27
#182Innovation3.68
#263Overall3.52
#282Graphics3.48
#330Fun3.35
#513Humor2.32
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

Deity says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Really well done anissen! Love the effects/animations/concept.

rosden shadow says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:07pm

good game well done

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Moody and arty! I like the visuals and the inverse kinematics. At first I thought I had to touch objects (or avoid touching) with the white part of the tree, but after I realized that I had to touch with the tip of the tree to grow or get poisoned, it got a bit too easy. It's a nice relaxing experience though. Shame about the graphics glitches when switching seasons that take away from the mood.

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Great game play and mood. The music complimented both.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Very indie/artsy, i like that :)
The parallax effects were really good, and the music really helped building the mood.

I got stuck for 2 seasons because there were no suns falling on my tree, so I just watched my tree getting obliterated by skulls, so that was'nt much fun.
Next time try not to take complete control away from the player, but give the player a solution to the problem.

Good job!

Borodar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Fun little game.

dj_pale says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:04am

Great mood and graphic style! Also got stuck at one point - with no choices, should maybe check for this state and restart or similar.

LittleThor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Well made! And interesting approach of the theme, quite arty. I liked the mood. Try to improve your art style and you make build very great games!
I was a little bit frustrated when I lost and the level was still running though

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:00pm

very moving. The soundtrack is wonderful.

RoseNinja says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:58am

really liked the art style and mood of the game. nice work

blackmagic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:28am

Very nice.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:35am

Good idea and realization of growing! Had lot of fun playing!

wilbefast says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Always nice to see Luxe games :) It's a lot of fun, strangely meditative.

The sound and music are great, brilliant job!

I think there a few little things that could really improve polish, like removing the scroll bar on the side or hiding the cursor. There's one bug that can kind of break the game: I got poison at the beginning of winter before I could see what was going on and then couldn't move at all any more. Up until then I was really enjoying the game joy :)

Eduardo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Nice effects!

Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:50pm

The controls were nice and fluid. It was relaxing to collect the powerups and see my little sprout grow into something more.

psychonull says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:20pm

I liked the mood and the experience overall. Good job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]