Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Bug Plus Plus

by Pat AfterMoon - Compo Entry

The growing bug has to eat all seeds to finish a level. Help him to move in the maze with the left and right buttons.

Controls :
- Right/Left arrow keys to turn
- Arrow or Escape keys to return to menu after dying or winning
- Mouse in the menu

The menu has an automatic slide show for help screens, but for the end of the compo, no help screens were made.

Note : progression is saved on web browser preferences.

Tools used :
- Unity 5.3
- Visual Studio Community 2015 - C#
- Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#216Humor2.97
#233Theme4.00
#450Audio2.69
#456Graphics3.14
#617Fun2.97
#649Mood2.73
#709Overall2.97
#817Innovation2.51

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:56am

This is a great entry. The control seems to work well as I am to able to set my next turn. Nice work!

Teekeks says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:20am

Nice work!

ruscoe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:20am

Great game. Nice touch with the antennae pointing.

kirilllosev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:43pm

controls is a bit sluggish. i mean i can't press it at the right moment without thinking about it. because of that i didn't play very long
the game perfectly fits the theme, tho :)

Optimus6128 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Nice entry, that plays well most of the time (although I can hold turn button, it works for one turn and then I have to unhold and hold again to not crash). There are some nice ideas in later level, it's cool actually you had time designing many levels in a ludum dare entry.

The graphics are ok and 3d and the sound effects are funny :)

Geti says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:50am

Fun enough (snake meets pacman), but the audio can be a bit obnoxious haha.

Goutye says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:13am

Left or right at the right time! Excellent voice sounds! Especially the victory music. Thank you for saving the progression, my browser had a crash!

kabel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:18pm

HTML link is broken.

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Thanks everybody for testing my game and for the kind comments.

@kirilllosev : If it can help, look at the antennas, they turn in the direction according to key pressed.

@Optimus6128: in fact, the levels are procedurally generated.

@Geti: you've made me learn a new English word: "obnoxious" ;)

@kabel: I've just tested again and the HTML link is OK. If the HTML5 version is broken for you, please try with another browser (I think Firefox is the better for that).

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Reminds me of the caterpillars from Super Mario World

Clavus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:30pm

A nice mix of snake and pacman style games. Game sometimes stops after the round ends though, and doesn't bring the menu back up (in the web version, after death or collecting last pellet).

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:31pm

Nice work!
But I encountered the situation when you died and nothing happened, the game just freeze.
I hope after play this game my C plus plus program won't be bug plus plus.

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:37pm

@Clavus and @CatOnMars : Are you sure with the freeze when winning or dying ? Your have to press an arrow key (or escape) to return to the menu. I've tested with multiple browser and never experienced this bug.

knason says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:01pm

It was quite fun when I after a while understood the controls, really fun audio! good job!

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Nice game. The antennae showing which way you're about to turn is a good touch.

narve says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:53pm

I give it a solid B++

Tapehead says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:35am

it reminds me on nibbly on c64 but with a cool reference to Wigglers, this is cool! well done :)

dx0ne says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Weirdly fun. Setting turn ahead is great mechanic.

Should get special award for sounds.

adsilcott says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:48pm

I appreciate the solid controls, and it definitely fits the theme. Nice.

Pantoufle says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Great game and a lot of content!
A background music would have been nice.
Congratulations for making this!

euske says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:36am

Frankly this was the most unfun game to me. The mechanics is there and it's well implemented, but it was just tedious and painful. Later levels are pretty much the same with increased speed but it felt needlessly dragging on.

themadknights says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:04am

Cute game

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Cool game.
The sound effects are just awesome. Some background music would be nice.
Well done.

CPau says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Cool game but I wasn't able to get the menu after finishing the fist level :/

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:02pm

@CPau: it may sound unclear, but you have to hit an arrow key or the escape key to return to menu after dying or winning.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:15am

This is one of the top games I've played in any Ludum Dare, and I've played a lot.

Dec 31, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Simple, well made game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/i8PM6O3S2Ao

graebor says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 6:03pm

Didn't understand at first how the queuing of my input was working, but once I noticed the rotation of the antenna it made sense. Since it's such a vital thing to the control scheme I would have made that effect a lot more apparent. Good work overall though :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]