Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

RocketBoy

by Prophet Steve - Jam Entry

Super rough game in just about every department, but playable to the end. And it's pretty short.

The game is a platformer where you can only control yourself by rocket jumping and a slight boost in the air.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#172Innovation(Jam)3.64
#304Fun(Jam)3.43
#442Theme(Jam)3.75
#475Overall(Jam)3.36
#928Graphics(Jam)2.43
#948Mood(Jam)2.40

Comments

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:40pm

This game is overall pretty good and fun. I like the way I can make the character go up without jumping.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:41pm

You did a nice challenging game, cool gameplay !

newbeings says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Very cool mechanic - well executed and nice level design, however I gave up before the end because because of difficulty. Would be nice on a touch screen - a bit frustrating with mouse. Overall great job! Seems worth developing more.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Quite enjoyable, but the difficulty spikes pretty quick. Was never quite sure when the right time to boost was.

modenv says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Very solid game play!

I think the levels needs to be easier to let the player faster learn the new game mechanic. I think one interesting approach in the level design would be to use none lethal obstacles. Less spikes and more wind or ice or other stuffs that interfere the players path but don't lead to a restart.

Prophet Steve says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:41pm

You are definitely right. I really rushed through the difficulty curve as I only took like an hour to actually put out levels.

Didn't think about non lethal obstacles, but that definitely seems like a very good idea.

logon13 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:06am

Good game. Some sound effects would be great

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Really good way to use two buttons controllers, i really like it

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Reminds me of QUAKE lol. Nice concepts and quite fun!

Geck0 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Good game! Maybe some music and sounds would be better !

LeReveur says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Interesting concept, not so bad execution, definitely needs some practice to master. Rough, yeah, certainly. But yet a good game. :)

Afendar says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Good idea ! i like it but with sounds it would be better :). Good work !

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 6:03pm

this gasme is awesome, really challeging and fun!

pixzleone says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Cool idea, and well executed. Good job!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 8:46pm

The link title is incorrect: This is not "WebGL", it is Unity Player, which is different. For this reason it won't run on my browser.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Frustrating but fun concept. It seems like it could be fun with walking.

kanatohodets says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Well done! Agree with previous reviewers that sound would have been a big plus, and sure, the art is a sketch, but I was engaged enough to finish the challenging final level, and had some frustrating fun trying over and over :)

Great job giving the player an increasing sense of mastery; the platformer polish (movement, physics) were sufficiently good that I never felt that I died unfairly. On the same note, good level design: the final level was hard but obviously possible to complete, so I stuck with it, even after dying on that dang last little bump right before the door.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]