Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Swamp Witch

by RhysD - Jam Entry

SWAMP WITCH

The Ghost of the Great Wizard has returned to haunt the Swamp.

Brewing spells under the constant threat of attack from the Great Wizards minions has turned into quite the annoyance for this little witch.

Defeat the Wizard and return the Swamp to peace!

---

A semi-difficult roguelite where you play as a witch on a broomstick.

Controls while flying are the up and down arrows (two button controls!).

All the rest can be navigated with the arrow keys and space bar.

Made using Multimedia Fusion 2.5

Follow me! @rhysdee

MIRROR: https://www.dropbox.com/s/fqclijlir877oxp/SwampWitch.zip?dl=0

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#52Overall(Jam)4.00
#53Fun(Jam)3.96
#104Graphics(Jam)4.28
#212Audio(Jam)3.56
#231Mood(Jam)3.59
#280Innovation(Jam)3.46
#528Humor(Jam)2.63
#541Theme(Jam)3.64

Comments

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:42am

Seems very polished. Cool game!

forer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:05am

I really liked the game, but I think I encountered a bug where the bitmap font was extremely blurry on my end.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:33am

First of all, amazing graphics! You put together a ton of absolutely beautiful sprite art for this game, and that convinced me to play for quite a while.

Unfortunately, I had tons of difficulty actually controlling the witch, leading to a very frustrating play experience. Instant death for touching the ground seemed unnecessarily cruel, and bats seemed to be several times as difficult as any of the other enemies. (Do they really need to move, shoot, and deal double damage?)

Also, it seems you can't level up any of your abilities until after you've beaten a boss? That makes progression really hard, and makes it seem kinda pointless after all...

You've definitely got some good stuff here, but I feel like I'd need some difficulty changes before returning to this.

triello says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Cool pixel art! Good work.

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Good graphics, nice mood and music, loved it!

Just one thing, the potions cost too much, if they would have been cheaper, I might have stayed longer to buy them and acutally beat a boss. Good game, just maybe make the potions a bit cheaper ;) (And also, all potions cost x5, maybe have a bit of variety in there too ^^)

RhysD says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:10am

@RockhopperGames @Chub1337, both good points. I ran out of time in the end before I could really do another balance pass, hopefully I can improve it after the jam voting ends.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:39am

curse that heart! Great game. loved playing it. The graphics and audio sets a great mood. Just takes too much time to gain resources that actually helps. Other than that awesome work.

StitchesMagoo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:43am

Wow! Super job with the art, reminds me of rogue legacy, if only because of the eye balls. Love it! Gameplay was fantastic though it needs balance, but I understand it is a jam game. Amazing! well done.

Windywyll says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:17am

This game is hard as hell. controls are really tricky but the concept is really cool and fun. (but if you find this semi-difficult i want to know what you consider difficult)

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:55pm

Wow this is one of my favorite so far, you've managed to create store with progression, create bosses and good balance overall. Definitely 5/5. Oh there is maybe one little thing, give more coins when player beat the boss, I feld not rewarded after my victory.
Game gives me nice Isaac vibes by the way =)

AdWARDS says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:11pm

The most playable and polished entry I have played so far...

Polith Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Cool game, nice graphics, congrats

oz2mura says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:04am

I sank a maybe good 30 minutes or so into this and I gotta say, I would be down to buy a full version of this.
I felt the pacing/progression was really well done, though since I did play for awhile, I got a bit too OP after awhile.
I thought the difficulty was fair, it did take a bit to get used to the controls/flying but once you do it feels pretty smooth.
I didn't mind the instant death upon crashing because when it happened it felt like my own fault, I'd even suggest adding some sort of wall at the top in a post jam version because I actually got lost up there for a bit when my keys got stuck...plus it would add bit more caution to the game-play.

I really love the simple yet stylish pixel art. I;m also a sucker for "witch" themeing.

The only real "issue" I had was the wizard never died for me even though I got its health to zero (but jam games, whatcha gonna do?)

RhysD says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:16am

@oz2mura thanks! I'll look into the wizard not dying, he definitely is meant to.

DBRalir says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Excellent game.

The graphics are very impressive. The overall aesthetic is very nice, and leads to a nice spooky atmosphere.

I would have liked a small bit of bullet spread to help with aiming. Tapping the keys seems turns the witch about 10 degrees, which makes it very difficult to hit the small enemies.

Combining controls for turning and aiming doesn't seem to work too well unless there is some way to shoot in other directions.

The progression is nice, but a bit unbalanced. I was able to beat the final boss, but only by injecting my broom directly into his forehead and simply winning the DPS race.

The upgrades are nice, but having to purchase ingredients feels like an unnecessary extra step. Also, because of the low precision of the turning controls, I was skeptical of the turn speed upgrade, and ended up beating the game without it.

The bosses were fun to fight at first, but eventually I had seemingly maxed out fire rate, and my damage was high, so I was able to kill most of the bosses without even turning.

Overall, a very good game. It feels like a mix of Rogue Legacy and Luftrausers. If you polish this up, add a couple hours of content, and put it on Steam, I'd definitely purchase it.

P.S. Needs some jack-o'-lanterns.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]