Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Thogh - Growth

by sorle - Jam Entry

Thogh - Growth

Thogh - Growth is a game where you control a plant while it's growing to the top of the trees.
Be sure to get some sunlight now and then and watch out for thoose birds ...
aarrhhgg

Controls:
Left and right arrow keys <- ->
R - quick restart level
Esc - close game at any time

enjoy and leave comment

sorle

P.s. the music is made by my good friend Connie

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#487Overall(Jam)3.35
#568Fun(Jam)3.10
#603Innovation(Jam)3.00
#644Audio(Jam)2.58
#645Theme(Jam)3.55
#647Mood(Jam)3.05
#737Humor(Jam)2.20
#741Graphics(Jam)3.00
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

davesoft says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Lovely graphics, crisp and smooth. A nice game but a bit repetitive when you understand the birds :)

Dooskington says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Nice game. I like the graphics.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Original take on the theme!

jofra says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Very cool game! it has a very relaxing music, and the game mechanic is very nice to play.
Great job

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:11pm

The game was pretty nice, but very repetitive. The music also felt too quiet to me.

Gipzo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Great game! It has quite a compelling gamplay, which got me battling with those birds for the last level. Oh, the birds, they will come to me in nightmares.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Nice little game. I somehow felt calm playing this even so sometimes is's annoying to get hit by a bird.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:16am

nice game!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:23pm

The idea was good. Got a little repetitive though.

Mantlair says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:09am

Well done. Just awesome. I am so happy that someone made what I planned at start. I had to change my plans into something a bit simple because I did not have full compo time to use. But our gameplay is kinda almost same. Mine is more turn based I guess and there are no enemies. Whatever, well done I loved how that plant grow with leaves and stuff. And birds. And flower. So cute I loved your game too much I can't even even talk properly. Well done! (Music was also very nice!)

Mantlair says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:22am

And I will probably buy this if you make it into a full game under 5 dollars.

JangoBrick says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Nice animations, the game looks and feels very smooth overall. Music is nice, too. Well done.

Jan 2, 2016 @ 8:11pm

I liked the growth and form of the plant very much.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]