Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Auto Racer

by ethankennerly - Compo Entry

Press LEFT or RIGHT to change lanes.

Dodge cars to speed up.

Can you beat all 10 levels?

Post compo-version: Steer off-road to restart the level.


Thanks for suggesting 9 post-compo improvements:

* Steer off-road, TheMeorch restarts level.
* At highest speed, Drtizzle changes lane twice as fast.
* Blobo encounters 10% fewer cars that switch lanes.
* Nosfer plays level 11 and 12 with 10% faster driving.
* Muel sees cars signal lane change 4 more cars ahead.
* TerraCottaFrog finishes race at level 2 to 5 about 20% sooner.
* If competitor is moving faster, Blobo does not crash.
* LittleThor hears lane change and pass. Pass rise in pitch with speed. http://sfbgames.com/chiptone
* Muel hears soundtrack (autotracker_bu.py).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#203Fun3.56
#426Graphics3.20
#446Overall3.28
#500Humor2.34
#630Mood2.76
#642Theme3.54
#760Innovation2.64
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

oal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:09pm

I liked it. A nice progression in difficulty and the fact that the other cars signal before switching lanes works really well. If you crash, it's your fault, and not the AI's random behavior. Pretty addictive, but could have used a high pace soundtrack. Well done!

LittleThor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Classic gameplay, but cute art and quite good level design! try to add sound next time :)

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:30am

This was really fun. I love the blocky art, and the levels provide a nice gradual increase in complexity and difficulty. It seemed like hitting only one car almost inevitably prevents you from getting beating a level -- if that's the case, it's somewhat frustrating to have to finish a race after a collision. It could be interesting to provide more opportunities to come back from a collision if you play well (or just auto-restart a level after a collision). Nice work!

esayitch says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:14am

Nice game, could really use a soundtrack though :P

Gameplay feels smooth and I liked the blocky graphics.Good luck!

danbolt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:37pm

I love the voxel-ish Crossy Road look, so I'm happy to see a Compo entry with this style. :)

I found the cars moving very realistically to be interesting, but it made things a bit hard for me to plan ahead. That might not be a bad thing though. Good work!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Really fun game! The car models are nice, and the turn signal is a nice detail that really enhances the gameplay.
It would be nice if your car changed lanes a little bit faster, on high speeds it moves a bit too slow.

Well done!!!

rnlf says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Nice little game! I like the art style, it's perfect for a compo entry!

It could have used a few more sounds (and I find your selection of the only sound very interesting :-))

The progression in difficulty is good and it feels cool once the car is going fast. Could use a better engine though, it takes so damned long to accelerate :-p

Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:19pm

I love this game, but I feel two things could have improved it.
First, it starts out way too easy.
Second, it is impossible to recover after a crash. It would have been better to just restart the race once you crash, to avoid players having to continue something they can't possibly win.
The subtly wavy water on the sides of the road also felt a little out of place.
Great job!

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:26pm

The game was pretty rough. i love the ai system, however being hit by a car just throws you backwards. if you get hit, then you hit a car behind you, you go crazy fast backwards, and then you have to remember where cars were behind you, or you hit another, making you go faster backwards. sometimes, after getting hit, a car will change lanes into yours, throwing you backwards. it was a pretty nice game overall, i enjoyesw teh first 7 levels of it, but then it got rough.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:28pm

I really like the level design on this!
Very cool idea and a fun game :)

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Simple but fun little game, very accessible. Nice sense of aesthetics with pleasant colour choices. Good job!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Not sure if level 8 is possible except for sheer luck, I got close but…
Simple, clear art style. Hope you'll have time next round for a quick music track.

Crazi456 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Very fun game! Would be awesome with some music, really loved it overall though!

loxo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:14pm

I like the simple graphics and the game concept. But I think the game is too unforgiving. You don't have a chance to win if you make one mistake. It's not much fun if you make the mistake right at the start and have to drive to the end knowing you have to repeat the whole level. I think a possibility to restart the level anytime would help. I don't know if you noticed, but you can see the "Press LEFT or RIGHT to continue" panel to the right when you get to the finish line. And more audio would be nice.

nosfer says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:18pm

could be little faster and have some sounds and music :)

rplnt says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Can you beat all 10 levels?

No :(

Maybe if it had restart feature (it's really annoying to play the level knowing you failed). Pretty good game, kept me playing :)

sergicollado says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Very fun

VascoF says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:16am

For some reason, the Windows version ran really really slow on my system (took forever to load and ran really choppy). I was able to run the Unity Web Player version though.

I really liked the visual style and gameplay. I would just prefer longer and faster levels perhaps. Well done.

Muel says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:05am

I second what the people said about the difficulty.
Also, let me add that there's times when you know you'll fail - when the car changes lane a bit of a second after you pass. This way, if you stays in your lane waiting it to move, you crash. If you try to get pass, it changes lane and you crash.
Add this to the fact that one crash means a fail and you can't restart, and then you'll have a sad Muel giving up on lvl 10 =(

But, overall, the game is fun.
In the lack of music, I got my own, I think it fits perfectly xD

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j4h5v2zat9I

arzi says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:49am

Really fun game! Good difficulty curve too.

dx0ne says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:11pm

At fair I was "ok that's a simple one" but then car started to blink to change lane and I was sold. Great that you punish with place instead of total fail. Nice difficulty curve to around 9th level.

Overall it was unexpected fun.

adsilcott says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:56pm

This game has a polished and well thought out feel to it, and as a result it's really fun to play. Very nice!

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Thanks for suggesting 9 post-compo improvements!

I made them in the post-compo version, linked above:

* Steer off-road, @TheMeorch restarts level.
* At highest speed, @Drtizzle changes lane twice as fast.
* @Blobo encounters 10% fewer cars that switch lanes.
* @Nosfer plays level 11 and 12 with 10% faster driving.
* @Muel sees cars signal lane change 4 more cars ahead.
* @TerraCottaFrog finishes race at level 2 to 5 about 20% sooner.
* If competitor is moving faster, @Blobo does not crash.
* @LittleThor hears lane change and pass. Pass rise in pitch with speed. http://sfbgames.com/chiptone
* @Muel hears soundtrack (autotracker_bu.py).

Muel says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 5:31am

The post jam version looks good!
Now it's still challenging, but less punitive

Si1ver says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 7:26am

This game is fun! I liked it very much.
I thinkm it should be named "Road of assholes" because none of them using back mirror when changing lines! }:-[

Dejvo says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 8:47am

great game. but you've made me soo angry :D https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gpTbnYozQk4

ragnta says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:42am

Nice game :)

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 10:14am

Very interesting! I love how you have taken the 'two-button-avoid'-idea and made it into something interesting. When up to speed, there were really a sense of speed, and the blinking to switch lanes was what made this one stick out to me.

Some feedback would be that it worked really well until I started colliding (around level 7). Then it became slightly frustrating to be bounced from car to car. I also think it would have helped with a slightly milder penalty for collision, now it felt like I could as well have exploded - the level was lost.

Nevertheless, I had a great time with this. Well done :)

Ithildin says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 3:30pm

Interesting idea, well executed. The blinker hints was a nice addition, and controls worked flawlessly for me. Some more audio cues might have been a welcome addition, but it's understandable due to the time constraints. Good job!

Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:52am

This is far the best racing game I've played in this LD, pretty awesome. There seems to be a small issue that we can go half into the other cars, but that's fine, maybe it's a ghost mode when collision occurs?

dustyroom says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:48am

Very fun game! Also, I found the secret key that turns off colliders :)

jackrugile says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:59pm

I love the concept with this one. The blinkers added a ton of fun to the game for me. Well done!

Krafty says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:39am

Great job! There were some points where I felt like it was a little bit too difficult to predict when the other cars would move, and sometimes when I crashed I would go backwards and hit another car, and then another =P But I really liked the game despite that stuff, it looked good and I played it for a while! :)

Solifuge says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:51am

Neat puzzle game, though it felt procedural and like the "puzzle" element of the game suffered for it; a hand-crafted set of levels that knew what cars would be where when you were passing them would make a big difference in controlling the challenge! Still, the difficulty progressed well, and presented challenges well as you went.

Also, I'd have liked a visual signifier for Lane Changing Cars like a different body color, but I could also understand making them all blend in as a design choice too; this includes the visual design, where everything but the player is done in blue and white.

I liked the simplistic graphical style; fun game overall!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]