Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Major Tom

by OberynMartell - Jam Entry

---Instructions---

Theme chosen: two buttons.

You are Major Tom, the controller of a satellite responsible for sending messages across the world.
Your objective is to send messages from the source antena to the target antena by reflecting the signal and mantaining it for a certaing time.
The game has 6 levels, each one with increasing difficulty. Try to beat them all!

Tip: Be gentle, you are in space. ;)

---Controls---
left = rotate satellite
right = rotate satellite
left + right = impulse satellite

---Changes---
- Fixed some rotations being bound to FPS.

---Credits---
Fernando Molon Toigo - Programmer - fmtoigo@gmail.com
Filipe Scur - Programmer/Artist - filipe.scur@gmail.com

"Peace of Mind" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#9Innovation(Jam)4.28
#13Mood(Jam)4.38
#27Overall(Jam)4.19
#38Theme(Jam)4.32
#42Graphics(Jam)4.55
#45Audio(Jam)4.10
#141Fun(Jam)3.68
#616Humor(Jam)2.49

Comments

xodene says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:55am

Well the graphics are definitely a 5/5 - so is the mood and aesthetics. I think the satellite is a little too hard to control, it rotates really slowly and lazy. I would have more fun if the rotation was improved.

JayProg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:56am

Awesome graphics. Very serene mood too, I like it.

GogglesKitty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:00am

Very fun! Trying to stay still while adjusting the angle is incredibly infuriating, but in a really good way. Nice Work.

fergarram says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:46am

I love the graphics but I suck at the game! Haha

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:08am

I'm glad I took my time to master the controls (they're very hard) to play this game. ItÅ› really good once you get the hang of it. And the visuals? Man, they're amazing, i really enjoyed how this game looks. The music fits the mmod really well. really great entry.

herniewise says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:10am

Loved all of this beautiful game. Congrats

zzapp says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:11am

Great game. The graphics are awesome and the sound fits really well and creates a good atmosphere. Once you learn to be gentle it flows quite well and is really fun working the angles for signals out.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:15am

This was a gorgeous game. Great job!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:38am

Oh man, my machine can't handle this on WebGL at all - it's like 10 fps. Anyway, got it running on Windows. Cool ambiance with the music, nifty graphics. It's really challenging, but in a good way. Reminds me of old-school lander games.

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:10am

Ground Control to Major Tom: Game is awesome! Loved the artstyle, but control scheme was a bit annoying to deal with at times.. Still, nicely done!

Taldius says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:03pm

This game is really nice, I've completed all of the 6 levels.
The controls are hard to handle at first, but then it becomes easy to manipulate the satellite.
Also the graphics look awesome.
Excellent job, and one of the best entry I've seen so far.

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Thank you everyone for all the feedback! It's very appreciated!

@MrJoshuaMcLean Are you running WebGL on a laptop? Mine has a dedicated GPU (fast) and a integrated GPU (slow), and the browser runs on the integrated by default. If that is your case, you have to force it to run on the dedicated GPU!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Nice mood & graphics. However, the game is really hard to play.. :(

StrehFox says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Found this to be very relaxing to play even despite the dialtone noise! Great job!

wccrawford says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:43pm

I got mid-way through level 5 before webgl ran out of memory. OSX/Chrome.

Sean says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:15am

Really nice!

btw, there's a small typo in the instructions

Echo Team says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:30am

10/10 would spin again

Iman_axe says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:02pm

The game is super cool! everything implemented well! well done! best entry that i played so far

Switchiers says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Incredible! Can't even imagine how you create this game on only 72h. Beautiful graphics!

teamvr says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:59pm

This is the type of game I always hope to come across on the android market. 5 stars.

bwatanabe says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:14am

Beautiful and meditative experience.

Polith Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Really nice graphics. Good job! :)

piper82 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:10am

loved the art and the music fits to create perfect mood. gameplay was top notch too.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:17am

very neat game - controls were a little too hard i think which took away some of the fun value - great effort

rnlf says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Despite the fact that this is not at all how satellites are operated or navigated in space, it was a nice little game!

I felt pretty smart when I managed to connect two antennas through one of the extra reflectors.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Goooooddamnit. Halfway through level 6, and WebGL runs out of memory... Besides the satellite being difficult as hell to control (restarted because I couldn't stop it from boosting), the game is beautiful and challenging.

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Amazing game! I love the art and the presentation!
5* for mood, audio and graphics
Congrats, for your entry!

mr. a says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:52am

Gorgeous presentation -- it's a pleasure just watching the world in motion, passing through its day & night cycles!

Kinda wish this wasn't restricted by the two-button theme. Levels that didn't require the use of an additional satellite were super-easy (but relaxing, thanks to the visuals & sound), but by level 6, I found myself wishing for reverse thrusters to better dial in my speed.

All in all, great work! I think I'll keep this one on my hard drive for a while.

rijnswand says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:59pm

As others already mentioned, quite difficult to control.

The idea is really interesting, and the tone and graphics are great.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:01am

I loved your game, really relaxing and fun to play! I loved your low poly art style and the name of the game is perfect (I like David Bowie too).
Awesome job guys!

Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:13am

The Impulse engines threw me into high orbit and were difficult to get the hang of. After a little practice, maneuvering the satellite became second nature and fun. The music was very fitting for making internet connections from space.

Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:36am

Wonderful!

bob_fish says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:40am

This game is kind of hard but the mood it creates along with the music and graphics are amazing. Really really good work!

Foofanoo42 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:25am

It's games like this that make me keep doing LD. Nice job.

recursor says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:08pm

A cool idea and very well executed. I love the blocky graphics and the game mechanic is simple yet fun. The difficulty of keeping the satellite pointing where you want it is just about right. I enjoyed it.

Bensonance says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Excellent game!

Adore the mood, graphics and music. The gameplay system is really clever and neat. Really loved the secondary satellite idea. I love how much detail you put into the world!

I do think the satellite is a bit too trick to control, but it's really hard to do this right without good playtesting.

Great job and congrats!

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:56pm

This is amazing. It starts out fairly mind blowing, then you start to learn how to manipulate all the angles and it becomes like second nature. I really really enjoyed this. It crashed out of memory just before I completed the final connection, but I'll call it a win. =) Great submission!

Drauthius says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:59pm

Nice entry. Would have liked a bit more difficulty on the later levels (perhaps less time before a timeout, or more time to transmit data). Right now it was pretty much the same on all levels.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:15am

Innovation went thought the rough on this title!
Well done guys. Good to know the brazilians are kicking ass :D I would love to keep in contact with you both. Botaram pra fuder caras.

Krafty says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 10:02pm

The graphics are really great! The mood and music are also nice. It crashed for me after I transmitted the first 42 gigabytes of data in level 6, but I was glad to have played as much as I did! Awesome game :)

aare says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Lovelly entry. Splendid graphics and really interesting gameplay!

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Totally great idea.
I'd like to see this expanded.
Very impressed.

Dec 28, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Really polished and immersive game! really good work :D I did however meet with a memory leak as the game crashed in level 6.

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:12am

Such mood... The audio fits this game perfectly. Only thing I wish it had was a little more variety in the game play (different satellite altitudes, any other mechanics to play around how the signal reflects)

But well done, it's clean, it's entertaining, it's relaxing.

Jan 9, 2016 @ 3:26pm

Really challenging, fun game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/yY4Ylj7ccuc

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]