Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

When I Grow Up I Want to be

by Lancelot Gao - Compo Entry

When I was (3) I wanted to be a (dad).
When I was (4) I wanted to be a (toy designer).
When I was (5) I wanted to be a (video game maker).
When I was (5.5) I wanted to be a (ninja chef).

Now that I am (30), I know I want to be a (kid) when I grow up!

----------

Kid run & jump on 3d platforms, shoot colorful bullets when wearing shoes, fight horrible monsters.

----------

Fully support game pad.
Keyboard: ASDW to move, Space to jump

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#16Graphics4.49
#84Mood3.77
#98Audio3.67
#144Overall3.72
#258Humor2.87
#301Fun3.39
#602Innovation2.95
#625Theme3.55

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:54am

Nice use of depth of field. The post-processing really tied it together.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Cool game and subtle interpretation of theme.

Dyn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Cute art and idea.

MisterMortal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Fun game, graphics look awesome!

zaniarm says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Fun game and I just love the art.

jim3wg says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Nice little game

rosden shadow says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:57pm

the art and sound made the game

Ybalrid says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:59pm

This game is weird. But in a good way.

icereci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:12pm

I think I played a lot to see if we can grow up. Nice game. I thought it was jam entry looking to the assets. Nicely done.

sydan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Very nice! I loved the different choices of 'what I want to be' being weapons and the art is very pretty. Wish the camera would move faster with me though.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Cute! Great Art!

RyanMan56 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:00am

Quite charming :)

OkaDoka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:11am

Love it, wouldn't mind seeing this go post-compo!

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:15am

tried on Windows 8 download. Got to the intro screen and tried to press "start". Although the button got slightly darker, nothing happened. Tried with lower resolution options, but still same result.

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:15am

Cute! Also very well presented. I loved the depth of field effects, and the shoes really made it. I would like to see it a little faster on the pacing though. I found myself just waiting for the screen to scroll in a few places. Also creative use of theme.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:15am

Wish the camera was a bit faster, especially since later on you're just waiting for it to catch up to you sometimes. Other than that, it was fun and enjoyable.

jsmars says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:16am

Cute graphics and nice feel! Wish camera could go faster if I moved faster tho :)

Logicon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:18am

Real pretty game, the enemies that came at you from the steps were hard to shoot, and much easier to just dodge.
I wish the camera was a little faster.

Rys0n says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:22am

Pretty neat. The art's my favorite part. :)

dvdfu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:50am

Amazing graphics, very cute take on the theme! Well done!

PurpleApes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:09am

Nice and Fun!

refreshgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:17am

A charming platformer with a very cute aesthetic, and you managed to add a boss battle at the end, well designed level and good fun to play!

Gins says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:32am

The game looks really good, but the auto-scrolling is so slow :(

micky says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:37am

love it :) great models and music, made me smile :) good work

logon13 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:39am

Cool story in the description. An extremely polished game for the compo very impressive

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:43am

Beautiful game. A couple of minor programming/design issues (i.e. warping up through the spinning blue blocks when you walk into them, being able to ride basketballs up into the heavens, etc.), but they're all overshadowed by how charming everything is. This is especially impressive for 3 day game jam. Great job!

DarthThomas says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:46am

Nice game :).

bloomingbuds says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:46am

a very clever use of art, gives a sense of polished

Green Soda says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:47am

nice game ... i like the bouncing balls :)

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:01am

Nice game. I think it is super cute and has some interesting mechanics. I wish I could scroll forward to advance at my own right so I could explore faster, but it's quite good for what it is. Great work!

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:51pm

I really liked the graphic style of this game, it reminded me of Super mario 3D world; Good job!

REIN1 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Very good look of terrain ! Awesome graphics !

modenv says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Nice with a 3D platformer/shooter. The camera perspective and auto-scrolling reminds me of Mario 3d land.

The basketball power up was cool with the physic effects.

Died a lot in the later parts with the blue rotating rectangle.

Also like the graphic style, especially the wood toy texture.

I guess that the connection to the theme is like, do you want to be a singer or a sports dude when you grow up?

-SPiRiT- says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:33pm

REALLY GREAT GAME !
The graphics are really cool and the interpretation of theme is nice too.

Problem: The player has to be at the same speed as the scrolling. He can't go faster and have to wait, and in a video game, waiting is a bad thing.

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:34am

Pro:
+ Very cute graphics
+ Good interpretation for the weapons
Con:
- Felt that the camera moved too slow and in some points I couldn't see the kid
Obs:
o I wished I could turn the kid around, but I understand why not

Great job!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:39am

cute platformer, well done :)

VladRusu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:47pm

I wanna grow up, game, let me grow up! hihi had fun playing (the kid in me is excited right now)

CrownCity says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Well done! it looks great!

tobia88 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Well done, i have strong desire to become a kid after playing your game

dx0ne says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Cute little guy.

Could be more fun with camera behind the player. And please add possibility to change controls so W/Up is forward.

Tanton-H2X says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 3:33am

Very Wonderful Game~
a little bit hard ,Retry 5 more times to defeat the boss ToT
my nephew also like this experience very much,basketball shoes is powerful!(also his favorite~:D)
the camera's passage(neither too rapidly nor too slowly) just like a metaphor of kid's grow...like the design about shoes can offset attack..
(but why musician's shoes is corresponding Pumps?>o<)
toy bricks style very cute~
"to become a kid" wonderful answer~

LukeZaz says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:52am

Interesting idea! It was annoying to die sometimes as in some parts of the level it was really easy to get ahead of the camera and so you'd have to wait for it to catch up to be able to see.

Other things I found were that upon restarting the game I would maintain my checkpoint rather than starting back at the beginning. Also would've liked a timer or bar indicating how long I have left on the shoes.

Overall though a very solid game! The graphics and audio were very nice and fitting and the game was entertaining!

Mar 28, 2016 @ 3:07am

Cute game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/MR4ln4T3mFk

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]