Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Drunkle

by Andy Gainey - Jam Entry

Drunkle seems to keep getting himself excessively inebriated. Help him navigate the precarious hallways of disreputable inns and taverns so that he can reach the exit before he makes a terrible mess.

Drunkle's mental state is limited. He can only consider two possible actions at a time. Use [D]/[F] or left/right mouse buttons tell Drunkle what to do. He'll be constantly stumbling forward, but you can gently guide him left or right around obstacles. Walls will only slow you down, but watch out for pits!

================================================================================

Developed by:
-------------------

Andy Gainey (design, programming)
--- experilous.com

Nathan Walker (design, programming, animation)
--- mooncalfgames.com

Peter Jones (audio, design)
--- soundcloud.com/peter-jones-20

Luke Schroder (art)
--- www.facebook.com/Addictive-Tattoo-164321993593599/


Made with Unity.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#107Audio(Jam)3.83
#132Humor(Jam)3.57
#172Innovation(Jam)3.64
#265Theme(Jam)3.96
#434Fun(Jam)3.24
#435Overall(Jam)3.40
#476Mood(Jam)3.26
#741Graphics(Jam)3.00
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:05am

Cool mechanic! Good use of the theme. Music was excellent!

I thought the setting didn't really fit with the theme of the drunkenness. Maybe having him come home from a bar and having to avoid manholes, trashcans, and cars would be interesting. Maybe also some pickups to help you out, like fast food, or aspirin to help straighten you out.

I also thought the different arrows along the top was a bit confusing at first. I kept trying to click on those arrows to go in that direction, but then realized that the arrows cycle.

The game overall is very smooth. :-)

fistmaker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:35am

Very good theme interpretation! The buttons changing threw me off at first, but it came to me after a few tries. Great entry! Liked it alot!

Didi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:43am

Cool mechanic.

gkxd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:50am

Very interesting mechanic! It takes a while to get used to the controls, so a gentler difficulty curve would be nice. (Perhaps start with just two actions per key and introduce death pits after a few levels.)

Music and graphics were really nice, though the character sprite looks a bit off compared to the level.

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:23pm

This game was really clever! Love the name, and the audio was very nice. Good interpretation of theme, and it was a really fun game! Controls were good, if a little intentionally confusing :) Nice game!

piper82 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:55pm

excellent audio and twist on controls.

tribrain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Cool game, at first i couldn't comprehend how the controls worked... maybe the icons for the movements are not as clear as they should be, wonderful music!! Gongratulations for the good work

Ancient_Pixel says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Nice one, i especially like it that you dont instantly loose if you run against a wall but there are holes so it gets more difficult.

Docjekyll says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:56am

Nicely done!
The controls were appropriately confusing at first, but it was really fun to play once I got used to it.
I would be curious what you might add in later levels.

Oye Beto says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 9:51pm

At first it was hard to know what I was doing, the first levels I only changed one of my directions. Maybe the instructions could be clearer or showing the key to change directions above the arrows would be a good hint.

I'm not into the dizzying camera @_@ a less exaggerated movement would be better for me.

The music was good, I liked the melody.

Thank you for your detailed feedback on my entry :)

Farelle says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:23pm

argh! the controls! didnt really understand what the arrows on the top were about and it felt quite random if he would follow my commands. It's fitting to the theme, but I thought it felt a little too difficult and frustrating. Music was very nice :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]