Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

ScrapFighter

by aplomb - Compo Entry

Battle five enemies to the death in a abandoned sector of space filled with floating scrap metal. Harness your starfighter's gravity fields to surround yourself in a growing halo of protective junk. Fire your beam weapon to shoot metal and explosive chemicals at your enemies.

Use the arrow keys to move. Hold Control to charge your beam weapon. This will pull any scrap you have near you in the direction you're pointing. When you release Control, you'll fire the scrap forward at terrible velocities.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#199Innovation3.64
#249Fun3.48
#377Overall3.36
#480Graphics3.08
#633Mood2.75
#825Theme3.20
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:43am

nice game

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:46am

Very fun, it would be great with some sound though, you should remove the audio voting catagory

pkenney says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:53am

These are some cool mechanics, I haven't seen something really like it before. It took me a little while to figure out, but then I got it. The instructions played only one time and I was looking at another window, so maybe that was my own fault!

Fights were fun, I wish it was a little easier to force a battle, I had to track the guy down a lot.

ptkfs says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:00am

Wow, very smooth multiplayer. Great work.

amorphous says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:37am

I played a few rounds and remained entirely confused as to how the weapon worked. Maybe it was just a visual confusion though, as the enemy health went down all the same.

Battles were fun, if difficult (I died a lot).

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:57am

Very interesting game, my only problem was that the thrust seemed too weak to have much control over your ship.

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:10am

I really liked the idea, but the controls make it a bit hard.

ddoomus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:46am

Pretty fun. Seems a little to difficult to aim and find / shoot the other players. But a good game. Awesome multiplayer feature.

ambocclusion says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:11am

I liked the gravity-gun mechanic. It's nice to see asteroids working for you instead of against you for a change.

Didn't realize ships were inherently magnetic until I started writing this. I thought you had to "paint" asteroids with your beam first, so I was needlessly holding Control.

Explosive barrels are always a plus.

It would be nice to see who killed who in the killfeed.

The ship indicators were so subtle that I almost forgot to mention them--that's a good thing. It would be helpful if they hinted at distance.

Others have commented about multiplayer. I too was fooled for a while until I noticed "Press charge to restart" (not "respawn") and checked the source. But that just goes to show how complete your AI was. Good job!

Trizek35 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:09pm

Nice multiplayer job !

Taldius says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Nice idea. I loved the gameplay even if it was hard to control your ship properly.
Good job!

Aelius says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:02pm

To everyone who thinks this is multiplayer: it isn't!!! The game pauses when it's not in focus and after unpausing it nothing changed.
Really cool game tho, but you should probably name the other ships things like Com1 so players aren't confused.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:35am

interesting idea but the controls were hard - if the game was slowed down it wuold be better - good game

themadknights says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:09am

The game is nice, the interpretation of the theme is a bit free (that shield made from asteroids growing) but awesome

ohmmus says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:20am

Fun! Pretty much how I imagine my first trip to space to be like.

I really like the added touch of the rockets turning red when you thrust. Nice job!

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 8:11am

Surprisingly had a lot of fun, even if it was difficult. Would be a lot better with sound.

Jan 17, 2016 @ 6:34pm

Interesting game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/xIPr3jDQjJ0

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]