Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

PreGumbo!

by FistBumpGames - Jam Entry

PRE GUMBO!

HF

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#277Humor(Jam)3.12
#356Mood(Jam)3.41
#366Graphics(Jam)3.71
#407Audio(Jam)3.21
#508Theme(Jam)3.68
#592Overall(Jam)3.24
#603Innovation(Jam)3.00
#921Fun(Jam)2.59

Comments

ChiPassGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:41pm

I love what you are doing with this game. The comic book intro is great, and your use of color hit it right. This is one of those games that I wish I could see after a couple of more days development, with more levels added to express the game play itself, and finish the overall game UI. Great effort... put a smile on my face.

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:34am

I liked it a lot! It was kind of simple though, and I wish there was more than one level. I really liked how bizarre Mama Gumbo looked and the whole silly backstory, especially the comic book theme. You should add different types of enemies and maybe make the playing field larger? It was a lot of fun and I hope you continue to work on this!

XenosNS says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:35am

looks great. Love the comic book style. Game mechanic could of been more unique.

OwT says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:36am

Interesting plot, but short, that comic style is a nice twist to what I played so far. That music is a little annoying thought and... Some kind of disturbing.

jcsirron says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:44am

Well, that was strange. I enjoyed the thumping tribal music and the comic book styling, but the actual gameplay felt somewhat lacking. I'm interested to see if anything comes of this start!

jdoughty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:50am

loved the humor, very simple and fun. I enjoyed the presentation of the plot!

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:57am

Cool game! I drowned at first, then I realised I was using the 'a' key instead of 'w'! =D I had fun playing your game, and the music and graphics are really nice! Congrats!

Mr_Fudd says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:58am

Pretty cool, I've never seen anything like this before. One thing I would've liked to see is for the food to telegraph when they are changing states a little bit. It seemed like they change was instantaneous. It was frustrating to die to food that was safe half a second ago.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Great game! i loved how you guys chose to tell the story. The graphics are great but it needed more effects and sounds.
I liked how the gameplay runs and changes.

Great game guys! Keep doing this good work!

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:38am

Nice game

Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:56am

I liked the art style! Gameplay was simple but unique. Good job!

hyperscope says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:03am

Cool concept very unique, very simple, also loved the humor and implementation of the game as a whole. Only downside was some of the text was a bit blurry and a bit hard to read at times. Other than that one of my higher rated LD games, good job!

EwChap says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:00am

Great comic style. took me a few runs to figure out what to do in the gumbo portion of the game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]