Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Candy House

by vitorlanna - Jam Entry

Candy House is a game made for Ludum Dare 34, with the theme of "Growing".

It's a stealth game. You play as a child with growing headaches and a growing desire for freedom. You are in search of "candy", but you can't let the guards see you...

If you can't get enough "candy"... Your dreams just might come true.

Controls:
Use the arrow keys or WASD.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#110Mood(Jam)3.84
#211Graphics(Jam)4.00
#620Overall(Jam)3.21
#829Fun(Jam)2.74
#915Innovation(Jam)2.44
#980Theme(Jam)2.84
#1857Coolness36%

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Mechanically the game was sound, The music is nice as well but it lack a feel to it. It just feels bland. I liked it.

crabcrabcam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:14pm

I think you'll have a hard time getting votes. I would loved to have played it but the file is just too big. Sorry.

Muel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Nice one.
I was so sorry for the kid, who had headaches and the candy are actually pills...
...that I kinda liked the ending.

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:54am

Cool gpaph, i like this style

Ybalrid says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:21pm

This is interesting. The graphics style is really cool.

OwT says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Nice graphics for such little time! I truly liked your entry, It had some dark depth into it and this is something I always value high in games.
Honestly worth downloading and playing it till the ending.
Great job!

Paco says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:24am

I really like the visual style

hyperscope says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:54am

First game for LD34 that the mood is what initially struck me. Art, mood, audio all great.

Pilly says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:13am

Beautiful artwork, and nice overall atmosphere. I was able to avoid all the guards relatively easily.

Wasn't able to view the credits on Mac, unfortunately - it caused the game to freeze.

Ludic says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Nice job, good visuals and concept

XenosNS says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 1:21am

Loved the style and the ending. decent game play.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]