Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Cosmo Hopper

by PlasterPhantom - Jam Entry

Welcome to our fourth Ludum Dare game: Cosmo Hopper!

Cosmo Hopper is a game where you are a grasshopper in space, in which you have to grow your main home base planet with resources you can find all over in the vast nothingness of space.

Pick up the resources you need, return them to your home base and select upgrades to aid you in your exploration!

CONTROLS:

Orbiting: Left / Right arrow
Jumping: Up arrow
Fire from cannon (upgrade): Up arrow
Rotate cannon (upgrade): Left / Right arrow

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#31Graphics(Jam)4.62
#205Overall(Jam)3.67
#213Innovation(Jam)3.56
#240Audio(Jam)3.50
#242Mood(Jam)3.58
#339Fun(Jam)3.38
#447Humor(Jam)2.76
#821Theme(Jam)3.27
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

wuppy29 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:17am

Very nice looking game. Unfortunately it's really quite hard to see what's going on. The game is also very easy and the cannons get inside of the planet after a certain amount of time.
Very innovative though, great idea.

Efuvex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:39am

Really great graphics. That art is amazing!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:41am

I gotta be honest, I had no idea what I was supposed to be doing. Running around and collecting stuff was fun though :P The art looked nice too!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:45am

Nice game with cool art

micky says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:49am

great looking and fun to play, once i maxed out the planet things when crazy with some gravity haha loved it

bodsey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:29am

Great great art. The game is nice, but somehow, past the first two missions, I unlocked all others missions in a row and the game eventually crashed

sleepYxy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:55am

Wow this game is sweet! Really nice polishing and gravity mechanics. The animations and sounds are sooo satisfying.
The ability unlocking phases are kind of overwhelming, because you can unlock so much through one trip and can't really try out your new abilities one at a time.

Also the WebGL Client crashed at the beginning of the tenth mission due to insufficient memory...
Either way, it fits the theme really well, definitely one of my favourites, good job!

Drauthius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:01pm

Amazing looking. Didn't seem to have an ending though?

tiffi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:13pm

Wow, great game, my favourite so far!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Wow! This game is beautiful. The mechanics were a little jarring and I did encounter a bug where I got stuck inside a launcher. But overall really cool!

ajopart says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Amazing art and sound. Physic seems sometimes dodgy but fun anyway

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:12pm

First of all, thanks for the WebGL version :)
Second - the game is really fun! Looks and plays incredible.

MrAmlice says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Amazing how well polished this is for such a short period of time... my only criticism would be that the Growth theme is very barely used incorporated into the actual mechanics of the game. That being said, it has almost two button controls so there's like a blend of half-half. None the less... I am amazed at the quality of production in such a short period of time. Great Job!

Robber says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Looks gorgeous, like the kind of pinball feel the game has too..very cool..my only nitpicking is that mission text 'collect and deliver' is somewhat in the way..great job!

Jeroenimoo0 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Wow those graphics! Very in depth also. Good job!

DevDad says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Nice Looking and fun game .

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:45am

Awesome graphics

nelskj says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:59am

A very cool game I like it, it's beautiful and original. I enjoyed playing it and fly between asteroids!
The game is easy, maybe a inventory limit or allow to gather only necessary ressources?
Anyway it's a good game.

I've got a crash on the WebGL version using Opera 34, with a out of memory error when I almost got all upgrades.

wccrawford says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Very well done! I got to the last upgrade and ran out of memory on the webgl version with Chrome/OS X.

I expected to dislike the game when I first started, but the upgrades really worked out well.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:07pm

super cool game, graphics are awesome, tempo is just right!

Jesse Freeman says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Really great concept, like that you used both themes for control and growth. Love when you explode! Great game!

David Cookie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Really great game! And very beautiful :o

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Cool game.
Sometimes it felt a little weird how I was pulled into the gravity field of asteroids, but other then that really nice :)

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:25am

Nice game! Very good graphics.. I was never able to get back to my planet, but I liked the game play a lot. Congrats!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]