Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Light Drifter 34

by Thought Reactor - Compo Entry

Light Drifter 34

Haphazardly thrown together after many failed ideas this weekend. Light Drifter 34 is a simple but aggravatingly fun car/drifting style game where you steer a perpetually moving craft, avoiding dangers and collecting blue Multiplier Lights to increase your score. Try not to wreck or your score will reset to 0!

Keep an eye out for white Healing Lights and yellow Speed Lights, too!

Made in less than 24 hours in Construct 2, Photoshop CC, FL Studio 12, and some BFXR. Thanks to itch.io for the hosting.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#107Audio3.61
#122Graphics3.92
#183Overall3.65
#276Mood3.28
#291Fun3.41
#578Theme3.61
#607Humor2.06
#735Innovation2.69

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:46am

Loved it ;)

SadSmile says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Nice Game, I loved audio and graphics

adamgryu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Nice music! The game is kind of hard, so it would be nice if the restart time between deaths was shorter.

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Very nice colours and sounds. Mechanics are great. Overall super nice entry!

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:13am

Ah great but rage inducing XD

hcosta says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:14am

Excellent game with good balance. I love this kind of graphics and lights. Good job!

ac7 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:20am

Graphics were amazing, but the game was really difficult. I agree with one of the other commenters; the game would have been more fun if the time between dying and restarting a level was shorter.

Mechamism says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:25am

Very addictive! Love it!

Fanatrick says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:17am

Great overall presentation. The graphics were amazing and the puzzles were on point, although I wish the game was more balanced towards the puzzle aspect rather than being fast paced. Combining the two leads to a lot of trial and error gameplay.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:07pm

@Fanatrick: I totally agree. My original angle was for it to be heavily based on puzzles. Time got the best of me and I had to throw in the majority of the levels in the last couple hours before submission. Thanks for the response!

fistmaker says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:09am

Fun and Challenging game! Good music, if a bit loud.

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Really good visual style.

NoradZero says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Really really cool game! Hard too!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:55am

Really nice game ! Enjoyed it a lot !

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:59am

Really pretty game, and beautiful sounding as well.

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:07am

Very nice job! Loved it.

herniewise says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:13am

So, you love Construct 2 too?
Great game, congrats :)

Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:27am

Cangratulations! I beat light drifter 34!

Things I liked:
- Great graphics and music. They went together like PB&J and lent great mood to the game
- FUN controls. It was fun to pilot the arrow and drift.

Things I didn't like
- The amount of waiting! The restart timer after death was annoying because I wanted to keep driving! Let me get back into the game ASAP. Also level 4 (I think it was 4) started with a long stretch of going straight :(
- Dead ends in the level design. Dead ends are the antithesis of drifting. They stop the game's momentum, and dying to a dead end often felt unfair as they were shrouded in darkness until it was too late.

Overall great entry! I'd have kept playing if there were more levels :)

oz2mura says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:31am

Ooh, what's this yellow power-up-- OH GEEZ NOOOOO!!

I would love to play this game on my Vita, highscore, linear gameplay modes and procedural generated endless mode. I enjoyed the challenge, was frustratingly satisfying.

ryandali says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:04am

I really like the feeling of the drifting turn, great work.

Madsj says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:09am

I enjoyed the game! For me personally I would make it move slightly faster and make the controls more responsive and I would remove all the waiting between levels, so it would be more of a continuous flow.

Oye Beto says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:27am

Very similar to my game but different in many aspects. I liked it.

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:38am

Awesome. I wish instead of a 3-2-1 when you die. just have a 'press any button'.

Ludic says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:57am

Elegant game

logon13 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:55am

Really cool visuals love it

Larzan says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:10am

Wow, looks beautiful, nice use of lights, like the retro scalene effect too, well done.
And very fitting music too btw :)

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:03am

Elegant and right on point theme wise!

Lullaby says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:28am

Nice mood and great result! Especially for an entry made in 24 hours :)
Like others here, I had to restart a few times, and the timer at the beginning become "longer and longer", if you know what I mean...!

But it's a cool entry anyway, well played!

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Great lighting and shadow effects, nice music and great variety of powerups!

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Cool game. The mood and the graphic style are real great

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:46pm

very professional and clean entry. I loved the graphics and tight controls. My only complaint is it seemed the like the scale in difficulty was too drastic aside from that it was awesome.

mde says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Very fun game!!! Just as suggestion you could embet just the game, not the full website. In your case that would be http://commondatastorage.googleapis.com/itchio/html/133077/index.html . But other than that the best game I played so far!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]