Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Petal Hill

by fishbrain - Compo Entry

Use ARROW(cursor) LEFT-RIGHT keys to control the wind.

Give your flower shelter, rain or sun light as required. Get it wrong, and he will wither and die.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#48Theme4.33
#216Audio3.23
#278Innovation3.47
#290Mood3.26
#443Graphics3.17
#448Humor2.43
#481Overall3.23
#683Fun2.87

Comments

rosden shadow says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:39am

the sounds are so creepy

yumaikas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:50am

Really good song and sounds.

Akhera says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:31am

Nice idea. I like the music, but the sounds are really annoying.

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:56am

That's probably the creepiest sounding flower ever.

Noah says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:10am

Lovely!

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:11am

Kid friendly. a bit more variation would have been good.

hairboy70 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:40am

Brilliantly addictive! Poor little wilting flower!

Skywilly says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:40am

I love the voice :P

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:13pm

A lovely game, would be great for kids. The music is nice and the graphics is colorful. The gameplay is a bit simple, would be nice if there are more varieties or more challenging

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:05pm

Awesome stuff!

pkenney says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Cool combo-theme game! The soundscape is really nice, very relaxing.

I wished there was a "play again" option at the end, I had to re-launch the game a few times to experiment around.

I love that the game offered no explicit instructions and yet was easy to figure out.

fafastudio says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:22am

It lacked a bit of instructions, and i found the graphics not that nice.

But the game was still nice, and i enjoyed it ! :)

rzuf says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Goddammit Flowey!
Nice and kinda creepy game. :D

themadknights says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:46am

Good use of both themes and nice audio

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Nice and relaxing :)
Good Job

Budi says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Sounds are really weird, scary, but actually I really like them. Original concept, well done :-)

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Funny little game, the flower's voice was a bit weird....

I guess the graphics could probably use a little work, they seemed a bit too simple

eskivor says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 7:36pm

when I won, the flower grew up so much that I think I would explose ^^

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]