Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Shroom's

by tuben999 - Compo Entry

Shroom's

-move: on w,a,d/arrows
-shoot: space

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#31Graphics4.38
#254Mood3.32
#308Overall3.46
#311Fun3.38
#440Audio2.71
#513Humor2.32
#856Innovation2.38
#924Theme2.61
#1817Coolness37%

Comments

Bmxchamp4 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:02am

This is cool, really like the art style and how the movement feels. I noticed a bug right off the bat tho. You might want to set your jump sound to play GetButtonDown or GetKeyDown whichever you'e using since right now, having it play GetKeyUp/GetButtonUp causes issues. You can hold W down for as long as u want with no sound playing and the next time u release it it will play the sound. Just a heads up. Fun little game tho.

intXparts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:03am

Awesome game! The physics felt perfect. I also like how you tied in both themes. Nice job!

Foofanoo42 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:44am

Very pretty and slick movement. I wish i would move when i was on a moving platform. Also getting null reference exceptions.

Crafting4U says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:47am

Great visuals and sounds and it was good fun! My only complaint is that for some reason my player jumps way too high, so a lot of the platforming was blind jumps.

rzuf says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:09am

Got the shroom! Graphics are superb and the headbanging wizard is pretty awesome. Nice game feel as well!

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:10am

I loved the graphics, they were beautiful! Fun game too. Well done!

BroCade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:11am

Fun little game. Small suggestion, the first enemy you encounter after you get your fireball power should be a 1 hit kill to teach players how it works. The 3 hit enemy just made me feel liek the fireball was useless and i just jumped over enemies instead of shooting them from then on. That being said, beautiful graphics!

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:13am

Pretty cool, the movement was nice, though there were some problems with getting stuck in the moving platforms and some collision issues. But it's solid. :)

Ithildin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Awesome art style, I loved the death particle effect.

Gameplay was simple and functional, I liked the progressive unlock of game mechanics. As some people have already mentioned, there is a bug with the moving platforms not transferring the movement to the player, and I was frequently having the developer console show NullPointerReferences.

Good job! :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Basically ditto to what everyone else has said. Really like the visuals. The controls feel good for the most part. The timing with the jump sound like Bmxchamp4 said can be distracting and the player needs to move with the moving platforms. Great entry!

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:51pm

This game is adorably cute. I love the shading of the sprites and the tiles.

Sometimes the sine wave of the bullets shot over enemies heads, and jumping/shooting was a bit hard to line up against enemies on higher platforms. Otherwise, I had a lot of fun doing the levels and dodging enemies. The precision bits reminded me of Super Meat Boy.

Thembi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Good job on the little details like screenshake, enemy explosions, bullets that go in different directions, etc.

There were some places where you break out and see/walk on unfinished parts of the level.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Very cool! Great art, and incredibly tight platforming! In the end I found it easily to simply hop over the spider-like things rather than try to kill them, but maybe I just suck :P

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:29pm

This is cool game. Fun to play. I didn't see either theme. since there were 3 controls not 2.

sp3ctrum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:09pm

It remembers me to Hocus Pocus but with a really beautiful aesthetic and funny characters, like the execution but a bit annoying jumping sound effect.

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Looks super nice!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]