Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Vitality

by lastninja2 - Jam Entry

Vitali is a personal journey about going through some changes.

- Game is based on "Two Button Controls" theme of LD #34.
- Controls are either by Left and Right or Up and Down arrows.

Music by Nifflas from "Within A Deep Forest" game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#137Innovation(Jam)3.72
#167Theme(Jam)4.08
#187Audio(Jam)3.60
#200Mood(Jam)3.63
#261Overall(Jam)3.60
#464Fun(Jam)3.21
#575Graphics(Jam)3.33
#642Humor(Jam)2.42

Comments

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:33pm

This game is really cool! Aside from the sometimes weird physics and the 'I don't know what to do' moments when you enter a new area I really liked it. The diverging paths are great if you get stuck on a hard part of the game. Feels like you are inside a giant machine with all these moving parts. :) Played till the end.

hamid_alizade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:07pm

It's an awesome game with a great idea :) with a simple move mechanic and great level design, it is really fun and different. I hope developer make a great game of this idea in the future. wish u the best guys :)

AboLD says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:43am

Nice idea, good looking game. well down guys.

Cruzer_AU says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:02am

Wow, that was a really fantastic idea. i quite enjoyed playing that.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:15am

Cool game ! Only "problem" for me being that i can't predict where the next platform will go on the first run.

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:19am

quite difficult, but still fun to play ;)

mathijs750 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:28am

Nice gameplay concept. A bit difficult for me.

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:28am

Wonderful music and suspense. True hardcore gameplay.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:29am

I liked the multiple path options and simple controls! Although it was a little disorienting that sometimes up moved platforms down and vice versa. Overall great work!

OwT says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:33am

This game gave me a lot of fun, but it's really hard with just two buttons controlling that... Some kind of giant machine! Graphics are simple but nice, good idea with that red trace. You did a good job with inventing all that "mechanism" I really enjoyed playing it!

Komradus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:00pm

A beautiful entry with some great audio. It is a little difficult at first.

fistmaker says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:15pm

Really interesting use of the two button controls theme. Good game!

Yvanor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:18pm

This game is too hard for me :') Anyway, even if the physics are quite strange sometimes, it's well-made ^^ Good job ^^

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Wow! Nice puzzle game. You do a good job with the mood although the pace is perfect :)

pcmaster says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:29pm

This is the most interesting games I've played so far (out of 15). Also very hard and challenging. Awesome job, congratulations!

Harsay says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Cool. Physics are kinda strange.

ajopart says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Really interesting concept. Quite disturbing to not know in advance how will move the platforms. Great audio, btw !

Japes says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Awesome game, very difficult though and not always in a good way.
I think things would feel more "fair" and less random if platforms only moved in the direction you were pushing. Something rushing up when you push down (sometimes) is confusing.
Not sure if that would work, but hey...

But I enjoyed it nonetheless, cool idea.
(there's a typo in the last bit of text)

VladRusu says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:12am

Awesome game! Fits the theme well. I loved the dark-y atmosphere and the music. I feel that I'm having a bit of trouble with choosing the right path.

behzad_robot says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Very weird physics as everyone says but really cool idea, congrats to designer(s)..

Iman_axe says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:22pm

very unique experience to me.well designed , well implemented, well done!

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:31pm

The graphic style works well and audio too. The controls are hard to handle. The fact that you can't predict where the platforms will move in many cases and if they will move in the direction of the key pressed change the gameplay from an interesting reflex/puzzle to a more frustrating memory game.
Anyway, it's an excellent entry.

ssodelta says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Good game ! ;)

OctoStudio says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:58pm

It's hard, but I love the idea and the music. Great job!

jstan says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:54am

I really like the gameplay. Keep good work.

Akhera says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 3:54pm

Awesome concept. However, I'd like if I was able to see how the platforms will move without actually moving them. Also, it would be nice if the physics were a bit more consistent.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]