Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Snake Runner

by SketchyGalore - Compo Entry

-----
IMPORTANT NOTE: The web version of this game has been tested for Chrome! Other browsers may work, but there may be visual glitches. Please use Chrome, or download the Windows binary for the smoothest experience!
-----

Snake Runner, a Snake's Endless Journey for Apples!

Snake Runner is a 2D "endless runner". Avoid obstacles and collect apples by jumping into the air and burrowing into the ground. The larger you grow, the faster you go! More points are awarded the longer you can survive without hitting an obstacle.

Controls:
Up - Jump
Down - Dig

Features:
- A remarkably acrobatic snake!
- Over 8 silly hats to unlock for some reason!
- Digging holes!
- 9 silly hats to unlock for some reason!

Snake Runner was made by Evan Good for the double-themed LD 34: "Two button controls" and "Growing". This is my forth LD entry, and my first after a year long break. The theme of "growing" made me think of the classic game "Snake", where a snake grows longer and longer while moving around a playing area, eating randomly spawning apples. Of course, Snake is a game with four-directions (and therefore four buttons), so my idea was to make a game with only two. This was the result!

Snake Runner was developed using the following tools/resources:
GameMaker Studio Pro 1.4 (with HTML5 export)
BFXR sound generator
Audacity audio editor (fun fact: most sound effects came from heavily edited recordings of a box of cereal! Crunchy!)
ColorZilla Gradient Editor

No pre-existing code, art, or sound assets were used.

- TIPS -
- Gold Apples and Bomb Apples will allow you to hit one obstacle without losing part of your snake. Additionally, Gold Apples make jumping high a little easier while you're holding one, and Bomb Apples make it easier to dig deep. You can combine their effects if you have both.
- Jumping extra high or digging low awards lots of points, but you'll have to get in a rhythm of jumping diving to go fast enough to reach them. Try to gather as many apples as you can before focusing on jumps and you'll really rake in the points!
- You gain new hats for reaching certain point levels. The final one requires 200,000 points! Don't want to wait or want to try a specific hat? Check the cheat section below!
- "Dig Jumping" (pressing up while underground) is not only good for higher jumps: do it under a box for extra smashing points!
- You bounce off of the top of boxes and pillars normally, but if you hold the up key you can use them for a small jump boost!

- CHEATS! -
For those looking to mess around with things a little, I added the following cheat keys:
B - Become bomb snake (as if you just picked up a Bomb Apple)
P - Become gold snake (as if you just picked up a Golden Apple)
L - Add a segment/speed to your snake
H - Cycle through the strange hats that I inexplicably took the time to put into this game

Thanks for playing and good luck to all the other Darers! Also a shout-out to Quill18, who encouraged watchers (including me!) to participate a week ago during a livestream. I probably would have skipped it otherwise!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#13Fun4.15
#74Overall3.90
#76Humor3.59
#143Theme4.12
#168Mood3.49
#422Innovation3.24
#451Graphics3.15
#461Audio2.67

Comments

greenscreen says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Great, entertaining game.
Thanks for cheats :D

SayRafon says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:19pm

This is a really really good game, I love it ! Good work ! (maybe a music could have been ^perfect to add) :D

Dec 13, 2015 @ 11:35pm

I love it too really comical!! good job

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:22am

Good job, love the cheats!

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:27am

Very fun! Enjoyed this one a lot!

Also, providing hats without charging us $1.99 each, you spoil us :P

illblew says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:27am

Fun!

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:29am

I quite enjoyed this one, played it for a while. Nice job!

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:30am

This game is great! I love the gameplay an the hats are a awesome touch!

jerry111zhang says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:31am

Great handling for jumping and digging! It would be great if difficulty increases with time faster.

brandloose says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:34am

Seemed very familiar to other games I've played. But otherwise, pretty fun and addicting. (Also comparing the snake's sprite to the boxes and tubes, there was quite a difference in quality)

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:34am

Nice game! Had a nice time playing it! :) The mechanics are pretty smooth... the art style could improve i guess!

sharpfrog4 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:37am

I could play this for hours. You just beat out TF2 for best hat simulator :')

rockybdubs says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:37am

Super fun game play! Unicorn hat! Web version was reallllly slow though.

Kakureta says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:24am

Very fun game! The huge score is oddly satisfying and I love the completely unnecessary hats. graphics could have been better and a some sound would have been cool. good work!

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:48am

I found this oddly fun, the physics were pretty enjoyable and the hats made me happy. :D

TheFumelgo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:19am

Can't finish. No end. Intended ?

sanojian says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:33am

Loved this game. It is just about perfect. The only thing I would change is don't slow down when you lose snake pieces. Gets a bit boring and slow.

dekart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Very well done!

Catblocker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Really good and entertaining game.

danidre14 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:27am

Really great game, had me playing for minutes. Took a while to realise you cant actually die. xD

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Cool sound effects, and as of yet absolutly the best hats.
Plane on a snake. NICE :)

What I didn't like is that you don't die even if you are only the head and bump into things. That made it too easy I think.

Otherwhise great game!

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:53pm

excellent game, simple and fun, the physics are very comfortable and the humor is on shape, good job!

suppi says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:49pm

pretty fun. nice work!

BoltKey says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:57am

It is smooth and just works. Also look quite good.

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:12pm

I really liked this one! Quill18 also got influenced my decision to give it a shot.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:34am

awesome game for an LD compo entry! awesome work

fishbrain says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:49am

Simple & fun!

aemiliu5 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:39pm

really nice!
i would appreciate if you could somehow lose when you hit too many objects... :P
but the animations of the movement of the snakes are perfect! :D
i enjoyed it!

knason says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Terrific game! I played it for quite a while. Thanks!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Most fun I've ever had with 2 buttons. The more I play the more I see lot of care was taken to make this game engaging. Like hazard warnings, entertaining accomplishments, and those big rainbow jumps.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:56am

that was a very well done game - although it would be nice to have it end at some point - good work

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:33am

Death worm?
http://sandbox.yoyogames.com/games/72097-death-worm

Very close game to death worm enough for me to be suspicious and cynical. Besides that I want to give a fair balanced review of what I see. Lets give this game a go

Nice tie in with two button controls. I like the humor with the hats and gives the game some sensitive to play. I was wrong and the game-play is closer to flappy bird then death-worm. Sound is nice.

SketchyGalore says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:50pm

@hpearson2 Never heard of Death Worm before, for the record, but thank you for not judging a book by its cover! To be fair, worm-like things digging through the earth isn't exactly something nobody's thought of before :)

Thank you to everyone else for the kind words, as well! I'm pretty satisfied with how this one turned out. I do regret not putting a failure state in the game, as that does seem to be the biggest complaint. Unfortunately it would have been quite easy to at least do a time trial or something. Still! I'm glad people are having some fun.

Thanks!

CMLSC says ...
Mar 28, 2016 @ 9:35pm

Got to 1,000,000 then got bored. .-. Other than that, good. :P

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]