Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growing trough the rocks

by TheFumelgo - Compo Entry

Avoid the rocks long enough to grow old !!
Press left button to switch side, right one to jump.
On score screen, press both.
I only coded for like 13h instead of 48 because it's my first attempt. I wanted absolutly to have something at the end, somy code is a mess.
If I had knew, I would have taken more time designing the program. Now it could collapse at any moment, and I'm not in the mood to restart project.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#502Humor2.33
#818Mood2.29
#847Theme3.10
#882Fun2.40
#905Innovation2.15
#945Overall2.38
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

Rogod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:57pm

All I get is a number appear after a flash of something.
It's like it's running way too quick and that's the score showing up at the end.
Also why is it called fat.jar?

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:50am

Nice pictures. Overall, it's great for a first entry to have a complete experience! Being able to prune back feature creep and focus on a playable game is one of the hardest parts of these jams. Keep doing it!

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:17am

nice game!

TheFumelgo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:08am

@Bloodyaugust @MercuryXGames Thank you ! You fired me up ! I'm looking forward the next jam, and I'll achieve something better for sure :D

TheFumelgo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:08am

@Rogod I'm sorry, I don't know what could cause your issue. It's called fat.jar because it's "fat" : containing libs etc...

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Crasches on OS/X

ZpeedTube says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Great that you put it up! First game does not have to be super good, the important thing first times is to complete it and upload it, and even if it's not complete still upload it! ^^
Mine was not that great a year ago when I did my first jam but the jams defenetly motivated me to keep coding and improving. :)
Good luck whit future jams! ^^

pixzleone says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Well this was strange, but working, and I liked it.
Good job!

donvermo says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Good job for a first game!

I really liked the simplicity, this is in my opinion the way to go when starting to make games.

The game is lacking some depth though, it does not seem to get any harder, and taken 'damage' does not seem to be recoverable. On top of that lots of things such as graphics, sound and menus (oh and if you are doing the 'pinball' score, use the last 2 digits aswell :)). Also it seemed that the input trigger was on the mouse release, this felt very unintuitively, such a simple thing could make a huge difference.

Good luck further on!

Dec 27, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Was entirely unable to run it; clicking on the .jar file does nothing.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]