Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Harvest Dues

by rojo - Jam Entry

Harvest Dues is a match 3 game where you grow and sell plants to pay off your debt and run a successful farm! This game combines both themes. You can get help in game by right clicking most objects.

I created this game solo.

Tools:
Unity 5, Photoshop, Adobe Audition, sfxr, FL Studio

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#52Overall(Jam)4.00
#72Fun(Jam)3.87
#110Innovation(Jam)3.77
#304Theme(Jam)3.91
#346Graphics(Jam)3.74
#395Audio(Jam)3.23
#411Mood(Jam)3.33
#478Humor(Jam)2.71
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:15pm

I really enjoyed this game and played it a lot longer than any other LD game yet. It's juicy and it has a really complex strategy part to it. It could need better explanation of the action chain that the player has to go through (at first I played it for then rounds without even planting something), but other than that it's a really nice work.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:01am

This is the first farming game I've seen that solves the issue of crops being non-unique. Normally it's just pricier seed = more profit, more or less. You actually made each one have its own resource payload req, good job.

Anti says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:01am

This was actually one the best farming games I have ever played. It actually had a more complex strategy part which made me play it very much and enjoy it. Really nice work with this one.

Wumbo says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:56am

Excellent game-I absolutely loved it. First off, I won on the last day, which just goes to show how well it appeared to be balanced. I loved the store music and the farming music, while a little boring, still fit the game very well. Art was excellent, though I never figured out what the two things on the top row in the second to the farthest left spot do, and it took me a while to figure out what everything in the store did (especially the shoe-I didn't realize that that was how many turns I had left until I only had 10 days left)

Progression was great and made sense. I didn't see anything that seemed too good or bad, though I never bought the mushrooms. I like how the more expensive plants cost more resources, but give you more money when you sell them.

Great game!

Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:00am

This is actually really good! The concept is solid, the gameplay is all there and you fit the theme of growing perfectly. The only mark down I would give is that I think using the mouse is kinda cheating for two-buttons given that it's actually more like two buttons + dpad, but I digress. Since it's one or the other, you still fit the theme perfectly.

Jan 2, 2016 @ 8:24am

Nice idea and well-balanced. (Won with 4 days left!)

Gaspard_ says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 4:06pm

Great game!
I managed to win on the second run. The complexity of this game was unexpected. The different types of plants interesting. The music was good.
Even if I was lost at first, the second game I got to tinker around with upgrades.
Very good job!

themadknights says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:39pm

Wow, great job! You made a complete and innovative game :D. First I thought... oh just another 3-match game :/ Then I started playing and I realize you introduce some interesting new mechanics. Again, nice work!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:55pm

Great little match-em game, really great entry!

kardfogu says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:24pm

Surprisingly good for a farming kind of simulation and the whole growing theme is well implemented. I'm not lying, it was actually really good to play it.
Keep up the good work!

- Kardfogú

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:30am

interesting idea!

radmars says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 2:04am

This game has some nice strategy and depth! I especially enjoyed the various levels of "forgiveness" the plants had. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]