Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sprout

by TheOZone - Jam Entry

Sprout your tree up into the skies in this relaxing game. Collect water droplets to grow in size, if you get to small or collide with yourself it's game over. Or is it? Just sprout a new branch on your existing tree and continue.

Controls:
Left arrow goes left
Right arrow goes right

You can also hide the buttons by holding space, so you can view your tree in all its glory.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#100Theme(Jam)4.19
#152Mood(Jam)3.74
#159Innovation(Jam)3.67
#205Overall(Jam)3.67
#223Audio(Jam)3.54
#239Fun(Jam)3.52
#542Humor(Jam)2.61
#696Graphics(Jam)3.10

Comments

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:12pm

I hit the top so I think I won, really interesting concept, was very fun to play and great music too

Flip120 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Funny Game

flwns says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:20pm

cool game, well done

Ryan says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:58pm

This was a great game perfect with both themes

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:23pm

I hit the top, did I win? Fit the theme really well and I loved the transition from sprout to thick stalk. Only just realised what the sprout button does, but it makes hitting the top easier? Music gave me a headache after 5 minutes, sorry.

Good entry overall, keep up the good work.

A333 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:44am

Very nice idea with sprouts and continuity. Showing the complete picture of the three was also a nice touch.

It's good as it is, a zen like experience, but in my opinion it could benefit from victory conditions (e.g. get 80% of the drops) and levels that will affect the way you are growing.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:45am

Really smart concept. I enjoyed this game.

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:37pm

The sprout feature is a nice bonus. Well done. Nice little game.

Budi says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:37pm

I like the art, which is created by the game. Needs a little bit of polish (sometime your sprout is generated so badly you are immediately doomed).

Also the music is great, nice concept, this game is really good. :-)

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:16am

This game is too good to be true.

myachin says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:17pm

wow!

thristhart says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:25pm

Something I've really liked about this LD is seeing people with the same basic concept (two buttons controls + growing = left/right arrows growing a plant) and all the different interesting variations on that idea. We both did a very similar concept and it's really cool to see how your game differs from mine. I love the branching concept, and the gradual shrinking as your plant gets longer.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]