Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Finite Growth

by Jeasonfire - Compo Entry

First of all, I'm very sorry for the music's similarity to another track from a certain great game.

The game is a simulation game where you place farms and houses and people live, reproduce, and die. People will eat the farms, and if there's enough houses, they'll reproduce. The point is to get as many people as possible I guess? As far as I'm concerned, it's a fun little toy to play with for a while.

The volumes can be changed with the GUI in the top-right corner of the screen.

CONTROLS:
* Left click: Place/remove something
* Right click: Change that something

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#470Humor2.38
#474Overall3.24
#481Audio2.63
#492Fun3.14
#534Theme3.67
#590Graphics2.90
#602Innovation2.95
#658Mood2.72
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

wilsk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:14pm

My people ate each other when I tried to build more building, oh the humanity. A fun if simple little game. Thanks

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:26pm

A fun little game, like it!

Jimbly says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Fun little toy. Needs some kind of goal or game over by something other than self-imposed cannibalism =).

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:08pm

My people kept jumping in happines everytime they ate the whole farm :D
After building the whole screen I decided to end it (no ending I guess?)
Little fun game!

Jeasonfire says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone! C:
And just to say it, the lack of a proper ending was intentional, since I made it to be like a little thing you can play with for a while. A toy :)

Dianouille says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:13pm

The game works well.

Osaft says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:57pm

I agree with Jimbly's opinion

paruthidotexe says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:31pm

nice concept yon can grow this to a big game..

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Very well made game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/DppxuiW8XzY

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Interesting game there, just the option to remove placed buildings would be great (I'm flooded with farms)

randomhuman says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Ugh, there were filthy humans swarming on everything like locusts, it was disgusting. Excellent and accurate human simulator, well done. I like how the music changes subtly when famine sets in, very nice touch.

Xanjos says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 7:24pm

Pretty simple and well done simulation game. I liked how the tempo of the music suddenly increases when the villagers start dying one by one.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]