Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Attack In The Mushroom Kingdom

by Monochrome Bears - Jam Entry

Good news everyone! We want to present you our first game based on Unity engine.
As you may know from the old tales, biggest mushrooms grows only in the dark. It's a perfect time for the mushroom elves to build their new home.
However the evil forces do not sleep and ugly orcs want to chop elves mushrooms, cook it and eat it.
Help the cute little mushroom warriors to grow the new mushroom kingdom before sunrise.

Left Alt - Watering the mushroom. Elves can't fight while watering and gain extra damage from orcs attack.
Right Alt - Rage mod. Decreasing damage and increases power hit. Elves will go into the portal if there is no more orcs on the screen to fight.

http://monochromebears.itch.io/attack-in-the-mushroom-kingdom

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#488Humor(Jam)2.68
#560Graphics(Jam)3.36
#638Audio(Jam)2.62
#700Theme(Jam)3.47
#805Innovation(Jam)2.69
#909Mood(Jam)2.53
#970Fun(Jam)2.50
#1001Overall(Jam)2.69

Comments

Ildfuglen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Redirects to spam and advertisements, no game. Not sure if this guy is serious but ignore this, it has really intrusive advertisements.

(The add I got told me my computer was infected and to download software, also tried to stop me from exiting the advertisement and ignored my adblock)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:16am

>>Ildfuglen
My apologise. I updated hosting. Availible on utcj.io now.

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:16am

Very good looking, but a bit confusing. I wasn't sure how to respawn the mushroom warrior, or how long I was going to last on a level. Using left shift to water the mushroom had no visual feedback, which is a shame, as we even have bouncing boobs. Some more work could fix those issues and make the game more interesting.

Drauthius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:18am

Had no trouble downloading or actually playing the game.

jdoughty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:19am

Had a hard time knowing what my input was causing to happen (never seemed to be able to get the watering action to happen). Playing the web version using the shift buttons for control caused windows to try to enable sticky keys btw.

EMPBomber says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:20am

The web links looks like it was fixed. A nice little management game, although it was a bit confusing for what my warriors were doing in a large crowd.

parias001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:26am

It is a really interesenting idea!
I had trouble using the shift keys and it was kind of hard, but I think with more practice I would be able to win!

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:11am

Not sure if I was doing it right. The mushroom would grow, but the left shift key didn't do anything as far as I could see. Great fit for the theme though.

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:13am

Okay, I see from the other commenters that the visual just wasn't implemented yet for watering. Retried and made a bit more sense. Great job!

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:31am

Nice boobs :)
OLD 4eva

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Thank you all for your feedback.
Control has been updated with "alt" buttons.

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Catching music and nice art!

Crazi456 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Pretty interesting game, looks great! Took a sec to get the hang of it but once I did it was fun!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Nice job, guys! Great art and atmosphere! Like to watch how mushroom kingdom grows!

Afendar says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:09am

nice art ! fun game and idea ! I like the characters

fullmontis says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:17pm

The game is very confusing at first, but once you get going, it is pretty fun. When things get hectic it is hard to understand what is going on. Also I thoght I was going well, the mushroom is growing and all but the it said you lose. I guess that it was because I was growing the mushroom during the day but I am not really sure, maybe an indicator to know that you are losing would make the game a little more understandable?

Anyway, fun entry.

AM_Games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Awesome graphics and audio :D

OwT says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:45pm

My mushroom keeps dying and I don't know why, I'm protecting it, I'm watering it, and that is how he repays up... He's dying. Really cute and funny game, I enjoyed it, played it for a long time, I like those elves, I love elves!

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:02pm

My mushroom got destroyed before I could grow it to one big mushroom :/
Wish I could have smashed the rage button when the orcs appeared and my elves were watering the plant. But that probably would make it too easy?
Interesting game with nice graphics :)

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Amazing game!

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Frustrating but fun! Good game.

fakefrogsonly says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Really like the visual and audio presentation of this, gameplay was a bit unclear however.

luysse_l says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:17pm

so sexy

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:22pm

simple yet effective mechanics

iapc says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:46pm

All your base are belong to us!

crucknuk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:37am

Nice little game ! Good graphics and quite fun :)

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Boobs and awesome musics!

Yword says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:29am

Nice artworks and music! Really good for your first Unity game! Well done!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:58am

An interesting premise, but some sort of timer for when more elves spawn would be useful. It was also difficult to tell when elves were watering, because the blue aura blended in with their hair and the background.

Jwatt says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:29am

This was kind of a surreal experience to play first thing in the morning.

The game seemed to play itself for the most part. Gotta have more feedback for the player about what their actions are doing. If watering the mushroom is the important bit, it'd help to have some visual cue of water falling when you press left Alt or something. Just in general visualizations of the information that would affect your watering, like a timer for when elves spawn.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Interesting little game, and cute graphics. I can't help but wonder if the time put into the bounce animation could have been better spent on making a watering animation, since I had trouble figuring out exactly what I was doing in the first place.

Also, I think it's okay to have multiple bindings for the same buttons, to increase accessibility. If they all do the same things, it's not really more than two buttons, after all.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:45pm

This is a solid one-- I'm a fan of chibi-ish sprites but I think the breast bouncing was a little unnecessary, haha. Anyway its more fun and challenging than it looks. It does a good job of making efficient use of your mushroom-folk feel good. I only had one little bug (or maybe this was intentional) but if I turned my mushroom folk to offensive mode and no orcs were on the screen they just walk off and die.

mockthebear says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Hard to understand, controls seems not to work

spotco says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:24am

keypresses didn't seem to do anything

Allthebees says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 10:29am

The instructions weren't the best but overall it was good.

agilejoshua says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 12:11am

I lost but thought it was going well. Nice game though, could be more clear (for me) about your status...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]