Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Full Metal Democracy

by deepnight - Compo Entry

TODO, uploading right now...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Graphics4.68
#15Overall4.21
#51Mood3.90
#55Audio3.86
#71Fun3.84
#131Innovation3.76
#198Humor3.05
#755Theme3.34
#2482Coolness0%

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:45am

A lot of fun! As always, the graphics and music are very nice, creating the perfect mood for the game (although you apparently opted out of mood?) Although some of the sound effects, namely the sound of the generator being destroyed, were a bit harsh. A short, but all around very well polished experience!

deepnight says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:52am

Oops, sorry about the Mood removal, missclick :) Thank you for your first comment! The sounds were made during the last hour, that's why they suck :)

Mixer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:00am

Incredible, incredible game. How you did the legs, gosh. Amazing. The pixel art, music, everything, perfect. 5/5.

Kortuga says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:04am

Once again, deepnight destroys our ambitions of doing well in LD. Great job as always, mate.

jward says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:27am

Wow, freakin' awesome!

sputnik says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:29am

Awesome! Robots are very cool. Good music too!

KillerkoUK says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:48am

Pretty cool little game.. you should just call those robots "Buttons" that would fit the theme well :) Is there any game over condition? I haven't noticed any HP and won all 3 maps without problems.

Bemmu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:19am

This is always the entry I am looking forward to the most.

Idea of having the two robots that you can switch between was cool, and the robot walking animation was fantastic. The art is great and this would definitely have sold a lot had it come out on the Amiga 500 for example.

ncannasse says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:24am

Funny game. Quite short and a bit repetitive, but good feeling overall. I would have love to have civilians to step on :)

rzuf says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:35am

Single-player coop, that's new! Amazing work, as always. Shame that there are no enemies that could be killed by stomping on them.

Pikace says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:22am

That was an awesome short time playing FMD. Really enjoyed it. Nice one deepnight !

Aaants says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:23am

Stellar, as ever :)

DragonXVI says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Presentation's gorgeous as always, particularly the walker animations + details. :D Love the 'creep' as a Growing mechanic. Only little gripe is gameplay's a little simple. Love it though!

jorgemoag says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Great job, very good game. 5/5

adamwoolridge says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:42pm

Awesome as always. Great job.

Studiosaurus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Sick, sick, sick. Loved the way the robots moved.

Radnap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Stunning with beautiful animations as always ! I love the mood, the ambiance and the overall feeling of the world is really good. Impressive work !

bering says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:05pm

The movement and feel of the robots is really kick ass! It fits the theme pretty well, art is great, animations are top knotch, it's got polish and multiple levels... This is awesome!

sanojian says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Unbelievable graphics and controls. Not full points for the theme but everything else is extremely good.

oxysoft says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Not as good as your usual entries but still very nice graphics, sounds etc. It was kinda annoying switching between the 2 robots all the time.

CrownCity says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:23pm

You had me at giant robots! Felt incredible to control those things!

Yamzho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Very good, as usual (even if it isn't my favorite of yours).

Tommislav says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:53pm

OMG

TaoPhoenix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:59pm

I'm new to your games, and it's *Compo* not Jam, so you def have a talent for art! This is a quick post that the concept is a lot of fun, and I'm building a list of games to go back over in more detail over at DonationCoder.com so I'll post back again in a few days during voting with more!

drludos says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:06am

Outstanding, as usual. I'm always amazed by your entries, and this one doesn't disappoint! I really love how the (giant) robots feel "alive" in the game!

alvaromartin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:00am

Awesome game, I loved it! Super polished, you are the king of LD! Really liked it. The mecha animations are superb.

munchor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:29am

Possibly one of your best so far! Really really loved the implementation, it was just brilliant, once again!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:45am

As always, I tried your game first, and I'm not disappointed ! Nothing to say better than what have been said yet, so I just say : thank you !

Tipyx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:53am

As usual, nice job :D. Excellent coder, excellent artist, now, excellent musician ? What's next ? :D

Joe Lawrence says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:10am

Wonderful! Love the art and the way the robot leg movement works. I think it could have fit the theme more, but regardless, 5/5 :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:58am

Very impressive! Everything is so polished.

edriavw says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:34am

super cool!

Valandre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:48am

Very good entry, lots of fun, and a very good feeling. You try something new in graphic ;-) thanks! a 5 stars games of course!

DonEngland says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:55am

Fun game. Enjoyed the graphical style.

Fadobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:19am

Amazing what you pulled off, especially in the short time. Wouldn't be able to make this if I had a year to work on it, let alone a weekend.

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:41am

Really liked it! I couldn't find a better strategy than move both robots at the same time (since left-behind enemies were re-making the spawn points) so it led me to question why there was a second, slower robot?

fullmontis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Amazing game, as usual! I would even dare this is the best game you have done so far.It is so much fun, and has a strategic quality to it that is particularly addicting.

jim3wg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Comme d'hab super, bien vu les contrôles simplifié

scorched says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Graphics are great as always :-)
Not very much to play though as most things are done automatically:-)

hadesfury says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:22pm

I love it !

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:43pm

I kind of doubt this was actually made from scratch within 48 hours. Cool game nonetheless.

Todnut says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Crazy awesome cool!

CogComp says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:31pm

That was amazing. Incredible what you've made in 48 hours! Great work!

kaa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Just perfect!

knason says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:52pm

totally awesome! I loved the way the robots moved. I had so much fun playing your game! thanks for that and great job!

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:09am

Nice! Top notch graphics as always :)

pjimmy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:00am

the game is visually flawless, 5 stars, but the gameplay is also very fun. Hard to believe you made this in just 48h :) well done!

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:40am

Oh man, that animation is absurdly cool, i literally said SO COOL out loud.
Changing between robots is a neat idea, but did the missile robot really need to be that slow? The game isn't exactly easy as it is, i lost in sector 3.
Brilliant work, though!

RadStar says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:46am

I would to rate your game, but for some reason, it doesn't seem to work :( I tried both on Chrome and Firefox but all I've got is a black screen instead of the game

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:31am

Nice graphics and animations! Add some sound effects and you have a juicy action game.

Afendar says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:40am

Great game ! but i have prefered delicious cortex. Robots are awesome. Mechanics is great fun.

Tuism says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Fantastic polish, fantastic presentation. Feels like a complete product. The tanks move beautifully and all the juice and bits of detail are just fantastic. Lovely minimap and all that jazz.

Except...

The gameplay is really uninteresting. There's not really any choice other than to move to the nearest hotspot, and there's no challenge other than to not dilly dally.

And despite everything that's in there, I really REALLY felt the absence of sound effects, heck, especially with the soundtrack playing. Sound effects are easier to make than music thanks to the likes of BFXR, so I would prioritise that first!

psypol says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:45pm

N.B : there is a possibility to go offscreen with robots, maybe you should put a blocker around the map

markusfisch says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Simply awesome. As always. You're in another league, really. I very much like the movement of the robots.

Kakureta says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Amazing game as always! Very well done. I've got no words for this... Simply amazing!

NoradZero says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:33pm

A lots of fun! Very nice job.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:22am

I don't know what to say that hasn't already been said... You know your game kicks ass, so you don't need me to tell you. As always well done!

hexagore says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:58am

Hi Deepnight. Could you upload the source please? :)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:20am

with less time on the second theme... and this was the result. :D nice work for less time. love the graphics like always.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:47pm

Great entrey as always! Gamefeel is great, feedback is there. Maybe the gameplay mechanics could have been a bit deeper or the complementary between the 2 mechas more gameplay-wise appealing.

Pantoufle says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Great game, as usual :-)
Congratulations!

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:50am

Five is not enough stars for the graphics rating—incredible.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:09am

Pretty fun game. Really liked the feel of walking over trees and buildings and blowing them up. Cool stuff.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:02am

unbelievable game - added to my favorites

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Great game! The mechs look incredible, especially with how they move like a modular war machine! The effects look great as well!

plauk says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:42am

Really cool game. Would be great as local multiplayer.

spotco says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:48am

impressive looking and feeling though wish more mechanics

wilbefast says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Great stuff as always DeepKnight :D

I do always like this kind of indirect control and strategic play. All it needs now are a few enemies and mechs to spice things up :) It's a shame the other game slowed you down, though I feel better about my own work now I see even you have your limits ;P

Only complaint I can think of (for good form): my screen resolution is quite low though so I had a bit of trouble fitting everything is.

dj_pale says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Very nice, with multiple levels which ramped up quite good! Awesome graphics and animations! Haxe FTW

Tijn says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Awesome game! Not just looks & sounds great, but also is genuinely fun to play. Great job :)

Avishai2112 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:03am

Trop fort !!!!!!!!!!!!

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:20pm

I look forward to playing. When I load from Windows 7 AlienWare M11x in Chrome, FireFox, or Internet Explorer, I see a black window and an error: "Error #2044: Unhandled ErrorEvent:. text=Error #3702: Context3D not available."

exhidor says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:34pm

I loved it ! the mecha are really nice

Yakka says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:20pm

This is really impressive :o well done!

freaknarf says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Nice compo, especially knowing how many times the gameplay changed in 48 H :)
Amazing visuals, i loved robots animations and move ; great visual and audio polish, gameplay is a bit easy once you get it,but interesting concept and AI mechanics !
Great!

SteveSalmond says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Perfection! Would have loved some sfx and screenshake on the big guys' footsteps to make them feel super huge, that's about all I can think to mention really. So cool! :D

Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:13pm

I love this game. Very well polished. I reminds me of those cool retro games from the childhood. Thank you for this!!

Drauthius says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:23pm

Another great entry. It was quite challenging as well, and beautiful like always.

Bogden says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Is the source code for this game available somewhere?

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:05am

Not working on linux. Flash MUST DIE.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Enjoyable game, despite the fact that you can't seem to lose (?) and you can actually just solo all of the levels with the pink bot (stomping on enemies kills them). Oops! Well, I guess it's more of a tech demo than a game, but it's still fun anyways :D Would be interested in a writeup on your blog on how you designed the leg movement for the bots!

Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:54pm

Great looking entry. The switching between the robots was a nice touch.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:00pm

Beautiful graphics and the gameplay is pretty good (especially with the strategic switching of robots). It did some more sound effects and levels to be seriously polished though. Still a great job.

Aik says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 1:57am

Would probably be better as a multiplayer game. Very impressive though.

01010111 says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:40am

Awesome game! I am really in love with the missiles - they look so perfect, and even though I'm not even firing them, it feels good to play! Great work as always :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]