Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Running Of The Ball

by NickMakesGames - Compo Entry

The Running of the Ball is a popular winter sport in which two teams flee from a massive rolling snowball. This year's teams, Team Double Button and Team Always Growing, are the best of the best and will play a great game for excited fans of the sport.
You play as the sneaky Gamblin' Joe, who has placed bets on *both* teams simultaneously. He plans to rig the game so that both teams score an equal number of points, creating a tie. In the event of a tie, both teams win and you make big money on *both* of your bets.
Do you have what it takes to rig everyone's favorite sport and pull off the perfect crime?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#29Humor3.96
#59Theme4.29
#114Overall3.79
#153Fun3.64
#199Innovation3.64
#218Mood3.38
#237Audio3.18
#308Graphics3.43

Comments

KBF123 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:34am

Cool concept! Rolling over all those runners was fun as well.

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:40am

Looks fun. Any chance for a web or mac build?

Mithreindeir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:42am

I loved these graphics!

sharpfrog4 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:43am

Themes.... err TEAMS! YEA!

Tom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:43am

Played this one a few times. Thanks for making it!

Dimitri0xFF says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:45am

Looks like both themes won xD This was much fun!

SgtBursk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:47am

Hilariously appropriate for this year's theme!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:18am

I really like this. The improvised sound effects are really well done and the win condition was unexpected and harder to achieve than I originally thought. I have no complaints here.

Bogden says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:54am

Very cute. The voiceovers are great!

Also not to be a stalker, but saw your comment on another game, but check out my game if you're into multitasking type games.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Pretty cool. more challenging that it looks - getting a tie is hard work :)

Wevel says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Really nice game, the ball is very difficult to control but that's probably the point

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:00pm

What an awesome game! I love the little cutscene at the beginning, where the really quite unique concept is explained to you. The sound effects are really nicely done and the gameplay is really smooth and looks brilliant. Keep up the good work - I look forward to seeing your next submition!

Optimus6128 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:12pm

That was very funny concept, I never thought I'd struggle to keep the same numbers, instead of hitting the most I can as I usually do at such games.

The audio speech is funny, the concept is crazy, and the snowball controls nice. Only negative I can't skip the dialogues everytime I want to play again.

Well done!

ciobeni says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Running over all those people with that gigantic snowball was SO satisfying!

AM_Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:39am

Love the way you took the tie of the two themes and made it into a game. Very awesome.

It might have been cool if you had some small change for each year of the tournament.

Piode says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Really cool visual effects with the rolling ball, and an interesting and unique premise.

PrismaSlice says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:11am

Good job, fun game. Running people over is satisfying, and trying to keep the scores even required just the right amount of focus. I enjoyed the mumbling voice sound effects.

Yvanor says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Really fun game, the idea is great and the gameplay is dynamic and funny, well done ! ^^

(and oh god these sound effects!)

themadknights says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:49am

Nice concept but a bit difficult :)

Jan 2, 2016 @ 7:09pm

Good game. It would be nice if the game gave you some sort of indicator how close you were to the end.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:36pm

Has the peculiar problem that the first fifty seconds of the game are almost completely useless, since hitting 40 members from each team and hitting 4 members from each team don't impact the ending at all. If there was some alternate objective-- rocks you had to dodge or something-- for the first thirty seconds, you could have some reason to not just walk away from the keyboard for the first half of the game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]