Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Shoot the Moon

by canon - Compo Entry

Shoot for the moon; if you miss, maybe you'll catch a few stars. Or however that went...
What? You don't see the moon? Are you sure?

Compete two-player, or go for the best time using one or both sides!
My best score so far is 88 seconds with both sides, although you could definitely do better!
It's a quiet night, by the way: no sound.

Contains Two Buttons and Growing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#98Fun3.76
#361Innovation3.35
#388Overall3.35
#498Theme3.71
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

Jstank says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:44am

My left hand is infinitely better at shooting for the moon than my right!

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Hey, loved it. Fun to play. Would have called it shoot the stars. wasn't sure where the moon was ... I know it's not there. Neat idea.

David Cookie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Really good entry! Hopefully I had a friend to play with (my second hand *kof kof*). Would be great with audio :)

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:51am

I like the use of both themes. It has a simple and fun core gameplay mechanic, the only issue I would have with it is the lack of variety in gameplay. Perhaps add more targets worth more points, or even negative points in order to make aiming more of a decision and less just shoot and hope.

richardboegli says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:54am

Agreed, should have been called shoot for the stars as there was no moon to shoot for.

Game Mechanic was good.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:59am

It took me 250 seconds to beat it. Oh well. :D

I like it. It's simple and there it doesn't take very long to play, but it does take a while to master.

PickleCrew says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:02am

My best time was 114 seconds. Cool game though!

You should add some sort of star counter to the game, because I kept try to get as many stars as possible in one shot, without even notice the moon was up there the whole time.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:09pm

Very fun multiplayer game. As mentioned, sound would make it even greater. But great stuff nonetheless!

fiddenmar says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:39am

Great game! The Moon is not a lie (cause it's not a cake).

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]