Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Star War

by eerongal - Compo Entry

The highly anticipated release people have been talking about for many years now. **DO NOT STEAL**

I heard some people say that they got tickets to my game somehow. If you find out who is selling tickets to my game, make them stop it, I haven't approved tickets.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Humor4.53
Coolness100%
#48Audio3.88
#161Mood3.50
#260Fun3.46
#339Graphics3.36
#439Overall3.29
#742Theme3.36
#839Innovation2.45

Comments

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:40am

Wow that was loud start

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:49am

While you give some justification for eating other stars, this is just a single player version of agar.io.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:49am

Best graphics and music ever!! Good work and may the force be with you

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:59am

@liquidmedia: Sorry! i tried not to make it too loud, but it's normalized to what i usually use on my PC!

@Move127: I'm aware other games like this (such as flOw/spore/agar.io), it's where i took some inspiration from! :)

@Cluster Parable: Thanks!

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:42am

CAUSE STAR WARS!
hahaha, awesome game dude, love the graphics and sound, very creative, i wish i think of that before :))

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:42am

Yes! A Star Wars themed game. I like the style and sound effects. Reminds me of a Strong Bad sketch or something. It took me a bit to figure out what the controls were. You should check out my game because it's kinda similar. I was unaware of agar.io until my sister told me about it.

brandloose says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:42am

Though this is extremely similar to agar.io, it is still my favorite game I've played. That was hilarious. Honestly made me laugh alot.

ORECROS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:48am

Original Comment do not steal.
also agar.io was just a rip off of the iphone app osmos, but it's not as good. I really enjoyed the construction paper art and the story was so dynamic and good

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:50am

Reminded me of Osmos, but still loved it.

KoalaBot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:10pm

I'm embarrassed to admit how much I enjoyed singing along to the music. Definitely inspired by Osmos or agar.io, but you were clearly going for humor and satire, and I think that shone through very well. I definitely enjoyed it!

cimbaman says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Love the game, because Star War

Ithildin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Sounds and graphics were hilarious :D Like others, it reminded me of agar.io or the first stage on Spore, but the not-star-wars theme made me chuckle.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:22pm

lol @ music, 5 stars wars XD

SadSmile says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Very funny idea !

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Cute little game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/vvV25Dw2BHg

dos says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Just when I wanted to quit it went to a boss fight, so I almost missed it! Glad I didn't :D

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:15am

This made me smile. Nice to see some different aesthetics. Also please don't sue me!

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:36am

This. Is. Hilarious.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:16am

What is this I can't even. First kazoo I've heard in a Ludum Dare game, that's for sure.

Super funny, and I love the construction paper art. My only critique is that when I got big enough, the background scrolled really fast compared to everything else - got kinda disorienting.

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:49pm

That was NOT stupid.. that was *A*M*A*Z*I*N*G*
The graphics, the music, the hilarious narration. The camera/parallax felt a bit weird at first. Really well done XD

Ovidios says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:48pm

It was all REALLY easy. Beating the deadly star was really just circulating around him a few times, let his lasers kill his projectiles, collect everything, eat him done. Pretty fun though and the music was nice!

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:29am

Funny start. Didn't move past the agar.io game play but did it reasonably well. Good Luck!

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:00am

The intro was fun, I laughed a lot. And the music + sound effects combo makes this one remarkable.

teeth says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:48am

if liking this makes me immature then I want to be immature, I laughed so much
I wish you didn't accelerate as much when you moved though, I found it kind of difficult to control the star

benwiley4000 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:25am

Very fun game, love the feel! A couple notes: 1. please let arrow keys or WASD be shooting buttons (maybe the user can pick). It's hard to use the mouse for aiming on a trackpad. 2. Lag built up real fast.. had to quit. But good game!

Jelinib says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Hmm, I don't know, the art and music could be of higher qualit- JUST KIDDING
Everything's exactly how it's supposed to be.
Funny game. Noice jerb. :)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:37am

HAHA that was funny. I like the art, it's top notch, and that audio is amazing. This is a great silly game, my only problem with it is that it's too easy, but it's not really about the game play is it? Overall, I liked it, I thought it was cool and original.

iantttianttt says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:13am

OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Beat game ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
LOL!!!

iantttianttt says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:14am

OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Beat game ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
LOL!!!
everthing is so epic! XDDD

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:43am

Good style and humor.
This game gives me a good mood:)

oz2mura says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:09am

Something about human pew pew sounds always makes me happy. Kazoo background music was also pleasant. Smooth shootins and swoopins definitely made for a fun experience. Looking forward to your next game!

OnionBlaze says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:29am

Lol, that was funny. xD

tanis says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:03pm

That's just hilarious! Great take on the theme. I dig the paper art style :)

orion_black says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Osmos? agar.io? I guess you guys never heard of Shark! Shark! :)

Your intro was kind of funny.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]