Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Decision

by Sim00n - Compo Entry

!!! Open file with Java - do not extract it. It's a Java JAR executable. !!!

=== The Game ===

Decision is a semi-political, turn based, world simulator where your policy decisions affect the general well-being of people on Earth. Their well-being in turn affects the 3 major measures: World Hunger, World Peace and World Happiness.
During each turn you can changed whether a particular policy is in effect and therefor how it's affecting the world's properties.

The game can be won in two ways:
- Making Earth into a wonderland where there is no hunger, no wars and people are happy.
- Destroying Earth by waging war, hunger and making people despise you.

Choose one of them before starting and try to accomplish your goal.

Theme: There are two buttons which decide the faith of your world.


=== My Experience ===

This was my third Ludum Dare, and as always (even when spectating) I've had a ton of fun. My goal for this round was to learn LibGDX which I did and feel very accomplished. I was also streaming at the same time, and I've had a few lurkers which is always nice on top of my friends watching.


=== Technologies used ===

- Java, LibGDX, Eclipse, Sublime
- Photoshop
- SFXR, Audacity


=== Known Bugs ===

- The "continue playing" button which shows after winning doesn't work.


=== Other stuff ===

Timelapse: <will update soon>
Website: http://puzdrowski.com
Github: http://github.com/Sim00n
Email: szymon (at) puzdrowski (dot) com

===

Good luck to everyone and have fun playing!

(PS I know that downloading a file instead of playing it in the browser might be annoying for some of you wonderful people but java applets, webgl problems and stuff ... :D If you don't want to download my game, please skip it instead of down-voting with 1's. Thanks and enjoy!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2115Coolness24%

Comments

dtroyt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:32am

I like the concept but it is very difficult to understand what is going on when playing the game.

cybutek says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:05am

Great fun game for the politically motivated person ;)

Sim00n says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:20am

Yeah I see how it can be hard to understand at first dtroyt. Basically the values on all of the cards show you how much that card is affecting the statistics right now. If you decide to change it, the signs of the numbers with flip. For example if a card is giving you +1.2 education, after flipping it would give you -1.2 education.
The goal is to flip cards in such a way that they affect the 15 minor statistics which in turn affect the 3 major statistics.

c2v4 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Great game, clean graphics. Playing it is a great method to unwind. ;)

Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:41am

Cool game! Is it the differences shown when you can "Change", "Not Change", or the current active causes?

Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:14am

Cool concept!

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Congratulations, no family has to starve anymore! Here is your scores: food: 0% what!?
Not quite sure what happend, my food levels would drop but no one was starving for some reason. Maybe it just meant I didnt have any accumulated food?
Liked the game idea, was rather similar to democracy game :)

Sim00n says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:29am

@oskardevelopment the values shown on the cards are the values in the current card's state. If you decide to switch the card the values will be simply negated.

@AzureAspect yeah there are some glitches like that. What most likely happened was that all your others stats were positive enough to win the game for you even if the food was low. This game obviously needs some balancing but I couldn't fit proper calculations into that short period of time.

Thanks for the comments guys :)

JangoBrick says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:02pm

Immensely enjoyed this one. Very great interface, big fun. Congrats!

Somnium says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 4:40pm

A very enjoyable game!

The specific relationship between the minor stats and the major stats was not always clear, but was still intuitive enough that it did not detract. It seemed to take a lot more effort to get the bad ending, than to get the good one though.

The graphics and interface was impressive, and the writing was great!


Also, thumbs up for using LibGDX.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]