Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

PinFootBall

by wdebowicz - Jam Entry

Controls:
Button 1: Z or <
Button 2: X or >


SOUND CREDITS:
Football fans:
http://freesound.org/people/paulw2k/sounds/196284/
http://freesound.org/people/ikbenraar/sounds/234903/
http://freesound.org/people/Quistard/sounds/237678/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#37Innovation(Jam)4.05
#86Fun(Jam)3.81
#245Overall(Jam)3.62
#267Mood(Jam)3.53
#273Theme(Jam)3.95
#778Graphics(Jam)2.91
#1611Coolness44%

Comments

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Not a bad spin on pinball. The controls seems a little sluggish, but was playable. Nice job.

Switchiers says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:55pm

I have a black screen for the Web version (on chromium/firefox on linux)

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Controls are kinda backwards on a QWERTZ keyboard, but great job nonetheless.

juxipolo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:54pm

hard to score, but fun to try!

Blobo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Really nice take on the theme! it's quite a fun rendition of pinball!

ruerob says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Super fun game! Great! I really like it!

pkenney says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Great idea and fantastic use of the crowd sounds to create excitement!

I definitely enjoyed it but wow it was pretty hard. I kept wishing that the ball wasn't stopped by my team's feet on the way up, but maybe that's my being a wimp.

I lost every game but enjoyed myself.

Maybe a few tweens and timeslows on the ball getting kicked would add to the feel in a nice way.

StMatn says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Very nice take on football/pinball :)
Its quite hard, but if it was easy, it would be called football :P Once you get into the controls, its really fun.
The sounds were really great!
It seems to be quite resource intensive, since it was stuttering real hard, when my laptop was on bettery mode.
Great work!
I scored 5630 points :)

Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Easy to play, fun and addicting. Would have preferred the opponent goalkeeper to be a little bit smarter, and some more variety (not that I have a clue how you'd do that effectively in this context), but other than that I couldn't stop playing. Cool stuff!

Taffaz says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Great game, really enjoyed it, although it was slightly easy.

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Unique spin on pinball! I found it very difficult to score but looking at some of the other comments, that was probably just me. A little variation in the table might be fun (maybe some of the players could change positions randomly?) but great entry overall

g12345 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:31am

This was a different take on the usual pinball game, but it's actually very enjoyable to play with all those nice sound effects and cheers.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:31am

Well implemented take on the theme and good idea. I saw some comparable entries online but funnily enough this is the best take on the idea. Nice!

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:36am

Very finicky, and scoring is a bit buggy, but still so fun to play! With some improvement this would be something great. Also loved the crowd sounds.

AAGH Games says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:12pm

I came in expecting something along the lines of Foosball, so getting a pinball game was a nice treat. It controlled very well, and the graphics were simple and clean. My best win was 9:5 with 10,060 points.

eskivor says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 6:38pm

Cool idea !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]