Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Eco-gro

by skysthelimit - Jam Entry

The plants get eaten by the herbivores, the herbivores get eaten by the carnivores and the bugs are trying to put a stop to it all.

Enter a first person, open world environment and create and grow your own ecosystem and keep your creatures from extinction.

Controls:

W,A,S,D to move.

Left click to shoot.

1: Select Seeds.

2: Select Goat eggs.

3: Select Dragon eggs.

F: Pick up or Place down.

Spacebar: Jump

Shift: Sprint

Esc: Menu





How to Play:

Create an ecosystem and protect it from the deadly bugs.Use seeds to grow plants and find eggs and hatch them.

The ultimate goal is to destroy the bugs!





Tutorial:

1)Place your seeds to start growing plants.

2)Harvest the plants by pressing F to collect seeds when the plants have fruit.

3)Make sure you have a good supply of plants before moving to the next step.

4)Look for a goat egg and collect it with F

5)Place the goat egg with F.

6)Wait for the goat to lay an egg and watch as your goat herd grows. (Warning: make sure they have enough food or they will starve).

7)Look for a dragon egg in the world and proceed the same as with the goats.

8)Dragons eat goats so make sure you have enough or they will starve.

Dragons will roam the world killing bugs.

If you find yourself face to face with a bug, left click with your mouse to throw rocks at it. They multiply fast but they die easy.


Art: Tom Hope-Parry
Programmer: Adam Chapman


Disclaimer:

Everything in the game was made by us. Except for the unity standard asset tree because we were running out of time and the world just looked too bare without anything.


Edit:
Added a webplayer. Took me a while to figure out. Sorry about that.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#646Graphics(Jam)3.19
#696Innovation(Jam)2.87
#698Audio(Jam)2.18
#770Humor(Jam)2.12
#903Mood(Jam)2.54
#915Fun(Jam)2.60
#940Theme(Jam)2.97
#948Overall(Jam)2.77

Comments

Boberro says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:44am

HTML5 version is imported incorrectly (you need to host all files from the output folder, html file is just to display them), and I cannot run OSX version (no error, just information that file cannot be opened).

Andrew Patton says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:50pm

Cool concept i'm not 100% sure what I was doing. I planted some seeds and killed a giant army of wasps that came.

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Updated and addded a web version.

I Cannot test the OSX version so I am sorry it didnt work for you. Ive removed it so that nobody else wastes their time on it. Thanks for letting us know.

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:14pm

re: Andrew Patton

I suspected that people might struggle to work out what to do which is why I wrote an in-depth tutorial above ;)

CaptainRed_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:32pm

A lot seemed to have been complete over the weekend, which is great. I was unsure of what I was doing at first, but I soon figured it all out making it all the more good.

TeamCalin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Great job, i like the world

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:33pm

I keep getting killed by the mega-wasps. Interesting idea and cool looking island.

As for the OS X version: I see you've comprressed your windows binary with RAR, but RAR does not store permissions and will break the app folder. If you create an OS X app compress it with zip/7zip etc instead.

-SPiRiT- says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Great but it runs slow x)
And a in-game tutorial would be great, because there is too much with nothing.
The bugs are cools by the way o/ Why don't you replace F by the right click ??

gallerdude says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Looks cool and wasps.

denycetm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:35pm

The ecosystem management is a good idea. finding eggs was very hard and I feel like you have to do that before any of the planting happens. Good motivation to get the dragon. All the elements balance well. Maybe start off with a single goat egg?

Null DIES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:00pm

I like the concept of a growing ecosystem.
Unfortunately, I weren't able to get past the growing plants phase :(
Damn those wasps :D

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:23am

windows link is the same as web.

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:40am

The concept is nice. Maybe you should check the stone physics, looks weirds when you launch it during the walk.

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:53am

fun to walk threw, quite good feel, good LD

Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Cool concept i'm not 100% sure what I was doing.
+1

Crosstales says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Love it, played it for 30minutes and got a bad ass dragon army
nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]