Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Moon defend

by Neonian - Compo Entry

Protect the world from giant molten rocks by moving the moon with A and D keys. It's a simple game made in a very short time, but I would like to hear what you think about it and what score you got :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#204Theme4.05
#306Innovation3.43
#363Overall3.38
#470Humor2.38
#531Fun3.09
#641Audio2.17
#708Mood2.63
#781Graphics2.48
#1648Coolness42%

Comments

pjimmy says ...
Dec 12, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Hi, nice little game, the only issue I've found was that sometimes, due to the orbit time lapse, I couldn't avoid most asteroids from hitting the earth. Other than that, it is simple but fun.

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:29am

Fun and hard, I like it

peterthehe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Very very fun and challenging

epicTCK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Like the ms paint graphics. Its pretty hard, or maybe I'm just bad at it lol

MHaton says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Now this I like :) Can be a bit overly difficult, but the mechanic is simple and effective. Would be interesting to see what else you can do with it!

XtremePrime says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:24am

Nice little game! Quite challenging! c:

Solifuge says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:41am

I was going to complain about the lack of Orbit Speed control, until I realized that you could move out to slow down, or move in to speed up. Subtle, but really effective!

A fun arcade-style game, with a cute premise. I had fun playing it. Thanks for putting this together!

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Got score of 62 before just stopping. Its nice that you can game the speed of moon by going nearer or farther away from earth :)
Nice little game!

eerongal says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Interesting concept. A bit difficult due to the force rotation, but a solid entry none the less. Good job!

loxo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Nice game concept, it's rather challenging to protect your world without the possibility to really influence the speed or the rotation of the moon.

krispy says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Good concept for a game - a bit frustrating that orbit speed was not effected by radius. I felt I had little control over my timing as a result.

TiByte says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Funny small game, the text was cut off a little.

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Interesting idea, I played it for a while (score 65). I would have liked a bit faster ramping of the difficulty (where there a ramping?). It felt like a quite complete little game, and was entertaining to play, so well done!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:40pm

good idea, but it`s hard to control. nice little game for two button in total)

Blobo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Nice little game! i enjoyed it a lot.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:15pm

Very fun game! I liked it. Simple, but still a solid entry! =)

miwuc says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:44pm

I liked the concept a lot! Simple and effective, and fits the theme perfectly. Challenging as well! I can't say I did a very good job of protecting the earth :( With more polish (some music, difficulty ramp up, and more visual effects) this could be a very solid entry.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]