Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The remainders of the 34

by Rodaja - Jam Entry

-------[Description]

We focused on the theme Two button controls.

The sound and music made by @parejoMusic are really great, and we found some cool ways to implement some of it, so please pay attention to it :)


-------[Controls]

Left and right arrows to activate each engine of the ship (both to fly off a bit).


-------[Story]

The squadron 34 went on a really dangerous but important mission to bring ₪ ^¨{ home. But got into some real trouble with §¤[recei{⅝ and now you're all that's left.

Be very caƼñµç¿have le֍ could lead anywhen.

↕ Good ø¶´§


-------[IMPORTANT EDIT ABOUT PERFORMANCE]----------

If you're experiencing performance issues with our game, please try the light builds (done after the jam).

It doesn't add anything to the game, just lowers some transparencies and light effects that were requiring too much from the computer.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#33Graphics(Jam)4.61
#80Fun(Jam)3.83
#85Audio(Jam)3.94
#115Overall(Jam)3.83
#189Mood(Jam)3.66
#216Theme(Jam)4.03
#828Innovation(Jam)2.65

Comments

James McVitty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:32am

This game was actually so fun to play, and the audio and visuals were pretty well done. Great art style.

JaviCepa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:59am

Cool game, well polished and fun to play. I liked the controls but almost didn't use the jump.
Nice entry! =D

P.S: The language changed to english after finishing the game, I want my money back!

Ludipe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Hey there guys! :)

Just finished the game. It was a bit laggy on my laptop and the input wasn't very accurate (guess it's because of the lag).

It was a fun game and the art is awesome(as always). But I thought it was way too easy and could have used some twist in the mechanics.

Good job guys! :)

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:43pm

The game looks awesome! It's beautiful! It's fun and looks super polished. It runs a bit slow though...

Great job guys!

Rodaja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:04pm

We just uploaded a new version with lighter requirements, should run a lot smoother now. Thanks for the comments!

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:57pm

You know the game is good when you dont get bored till the end!
I enjoyed this very much, great game :)

recursor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:02pm

I love the graphical style in this game. It is great! The music and sfx are also really good. It was so good that I finished it. Congratulations on a well polished and fun game.

sararyCow says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:45pm

Loved the visual part, combined with good gameplay mechanics. Nice game overall.

NuggetTeam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Amazing graphics. Very polished. Really enjoyed it!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Perfect execution! Looks amazing and playing smooth.

caiges says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Overall I thought it was awesome. Art and sounds were really great!

Zulgot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Wow very fun game! Nice graphics :)

phi6 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:10pm

Pretty fun game! Visuals were really cool! Pickup noises were nice.

koocachookies says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:55am

Awesome aesthetic game! Very fun to play. The music and fx are very immersive.

CalmKai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Fun, but laggy!

Boberro says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Great entry.
Don't know why, but I loved the animation of the autocannon turret - this recoil was cute.
And the music's great. Reminds me of, I think it was Interstellar. It has the feel of forced epicness, but it's not a bad thing in this case. It adds to your mood rating :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Buen juego! Buenos gráficos y música! Como crítica constructiva, el menú me da la sensación de que va un poco petado, no sé porqué, ya que luego el juego es fluído y además... el juego prefiere el inglés claramente. Yo no! :D

Eigen says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Looks and plays pretty awesome! Very nice sound design. I would bring the spaceship closer to the bottom of the screen so there's more visibility ahead. Unless you memorise the level it's pretty darn difficult. Other than that, great overall quality. Good job.

nuprahtor says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Really nice and smooth gameplay and great graphics/sound.
I wish, though, that it was more action oriented with auto-fire, like in many shmups out there

Diel Mormac says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:45pm

This game have an excellent visual! It made me remember my old PS1 (R.I.P.) and the games of spaceships :'(

I can imagine this game running in my phone!

I think you guys should keep working on this game, it is addictive!

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:06am

I could not play or rate the game because the game crashes with the "RemaindersOfThe34-light.exe has stopped working" error. :(

This error always occurs right after the Rodaja splash. I'm on Windows 7. I tried both the regular and lite versions. The game looked interesting, so I hope this can be resolved.

randomhuman says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:56pm

So pretty! I spent ages just looking at the title screen it was so well done. Gameplay is great too, if a little short.

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:07pm

I love this game, the low poly art is great, the control is very smooth. I would add difficulty as you go and it would be great.

Omiya Games says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:40am

Fun game, nice and tense. The sound effects, especially explosion and health recover is a bit repetitive. I'd like to see more variety for effects that occurs very frequently.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]