Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Hybris

by Benjamin - Compo Entry

Destroy the infected cells in all 4 zones to prevent the infection from spreading

-- CONTROL --
[arrow keys] move
[z] shoot
[x] suicide ( I forgot to suppress this forfinal release, so take care... )

-- OPTIONS --
- radius : expand your shot explosion radius
- flame : burn the links betweens cells on each hit
- rapid fire : increase your firerate
- extra life : give you one more try

-- ZONES --
The difficulty of each zone depends on the order you visit them. If you think a level is too difficult try to start your next run with this one.

-- INSPIRATION --
I get inspiration from a very old arcade game named spiders ( 1981 Sigma )

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#5Overall4.37
#12Fun4.19
#29Graphics4.39
#38Audio3.94
#72Mood3.81
#119Theme4.16
#143Innovation3.74
#359Humor2.63

Comments

jward says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:04am

Hard, yes, but very fun to try nonetheless. Great graphics and animations!

Crowno says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:23am

Very challenging but also addicting. The graphics are very charming, specially the growing infections. Themes were very well applied. I really liked it!

Bemmu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:50am

So far fun-wise the best entry I've tried, I think you beat deepnight here!

ncannasse says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:50am

Nice, I'm not sure what the power up are doing.

NuSan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:41am

Prety good art. The game is fun and difficulty is progressive. "Bone Marrow Wasteland" is so hard, I only beat it by change ... Each level has his own enemies and style, realy great !

Pikace says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:45am

Hard an beautiful.
I liked it.

(but still don't know how the powerups are supposed to work)

anael says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:51pm

really good, this pico8 thing really works, nice generative art, awesome menu, congrats !

freaknarf says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Very nice and challenging ! I loved the use of palette and the changing mood /gameplay of levels. It was hard at first, took several games to build a strategy (!) and beat it. I highly appreciated to hear this keystroke sound again...
Great fun and great arcade feel :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:23am

oh man this was fantastic. took me a while to figure out what was going on but man was this a well-designed game

Remicy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:26am

Spend a hour to clear this. Definitely five stars for me. Really fun! Enjoy very much. Thanks for making this game!

Frenchie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:29am

Really nice game! My favorite was the way the tumors grew!

I see lots of people complaining about difficulty but I beat it in ~10-15 min. I actually spent most time on bone marrow. Two of them I was able to beat before the tumor had a chance to grow at all.

lekochen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:05am

Complete! My finger feels sore but that was so satisfying.

zzapp says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Great game overall. The graphics and sfx are nice but what really stands out is how fun and challenging the game is.
It really made me want to push to beat all the levels.

scars377 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Very much fun! Hard to control through.

headchant says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Amazing as always

Todnut says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Really cool! The controls were a little stick for a shooter. Tapping the keys seemed to work better than holding but button down. Great Job!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Hard but fun, well done !

elliottd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:34pm

very fun entry. seems really difficult without that feeling exclusionary. good job

dj_pale says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Impressive entry, very nice graphics and gameplay. A lot of small details - feels solid. Great job.

kaa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:56am

Good work!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:41am

Nice style and retro-feeling. Growing looks really cool. I just suck at these kind of games...

local minimum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:41pm

Great graphics and solid game. I'm not very good at those games it would seem though so it is much too hard for me, even the first map. Maybe it would be more encouraging to keep on failing if the same level just quickly restarted as soon as death sequence played out.

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:39am

Fun game, the artwork is gorgeous!
The difficulty is a bit wild, the first level took me a while because i wasn't sure what i was doing, then the second and third ones were over in a few seconds, then the fourth one was way too hard for me.

XenosNS says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Wow! Very slick game, loved it.

fishtrek says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Crazy amount of content here for a compo entry - kudos. Some of the levels seem a bit unfair at times - easy to get overwhelmed by enemies and have nowhere to go, and sometimes the controls were a bit sticky. But I can forgive that when the audio and visuals are already so polished. Nice job. :)

Yakka says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Great gameplay, art, mood, execution... and AWESOME music! Dude, I had the feeling the music is interactive, isn't it? If not, at least the shot's noise matches perfectly with the "Muscular Hills" music :-) Good job!

wilbefast says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Managed a run through of everything except the muscles - damn those homing missiles! Great little game, the use of theme is excellent although the "growing boss" thing means a huge amount of positive feedback: if you start doing badly you're going to continue, and if you get things under control you're fine. Still I really enjoyed the game, and I'd love to see a full-length shoot'em'up using some of these kinds of organic growth mechanics for the enemies and obstacles.

xhunterko says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Much too difficult for me. X and V caused me to explode and I wasn't sure how the options worked at all. Still nice and very slick!

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:10pm

When I shot the nodes and dodged bullets, I felt excited. If you continue to develop this, I found the muscle level to be easiest since the node did not spawn another node, so I would have thought that one would be at the top-left, and on my Windows AlienWare M11x with Chrome, I had to hold down SHIFT and Z to shoot or select, regardless if I had CAPS off or on.

23 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:13am

This is great! Your work with Pico8 is always amazing.

While usually fights were solid, it seemed like after the first ten seconds you'd either clamped down on growth or were overwhelmed. Maybe if the enemies started with more territory controlled but grew more slowly or unevenly it'd be a bit less of a speed game?

anotak says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:30am

Nice, though the suicide button being right by the shoot button was a bit awkward

GFM says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:48pm

I could nitpick about how I'd prefer if the ship kept shooting consistently while the button was held down or about how I thought the moveable area was too short...

But no! I'll acknowledge all that as part of the game and as part of what make this awesome!

Once again, I'm sincerely amazed by how polished and complete your game is.

Congrats and amazing job!

Dracir says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:21am

Great game!

Dejvo says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Really hard but fun and I'm really impressed what you've accomplished during this Gamejam. really well put together.

in response to your comment, thank you so much for your kind comment. to address the problems, you mentioned, you can sort of control where the wine will go because during it moving it follows the centre of a tie but during spilling it stays perfectly still and the challenge is to navigate the wine so that you won't get spilled. also, the bow ties were not bonuses. they are the main part of the game and a way to progress throughout the game. without them, it would be even more boring than it is now. because the challenge is to slice them as well as avoid the wine. story wise, you slice them because they are competition to tie.
so, that's that. but thanks! and you've made good game but smetimes, there's no win condition and it's too hard. you should implement a learning curve and tell the player exactly how does he destroy the things. because sometimes it's like 3 hits, sometimes it's 10 and it lacks consistency.

Anachron says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Nice pixel art and fun shooter! Not too hard, I beat all four levels in a row on my third try. Wished I could have moved a bit farther up the screen to really get in the infeciton's face you know?

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:20am

That was a fantastic game! It was so difficult. It took me a lot of tries to actually beat it. The way everything grows makes things a little stressful, but so satisfying when you actually beat it. I absolutely loved the mood and the charm about the game, the music was particularly good. Awesome stuff! :)

markusfisch says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:27am

That's fun! I really like the "growing" of the infection. Gives the whole concept a new touch.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Great job!
I like how you implemented the virus, that's what I call good theme usage.
Also, graphics and audio are both nice.
The only frustrating thing is that when you die you need to revisit all levels again.

drludos says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Outstanding entry, as usual! I still wonder how you can create such polished, fun, and content-rich in 48h only! :)
The game is very interesting to play, as each level requires a different strategy to be beaten. The difficulty curve is well balanced for me, it's challenging but beatable! :)
Congrats!

dx0ne says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 11:06am

Great game. It's hard but there's a feeling that you getting better at it.

agilejoshua says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Great little game - nice variation with the different "levels".

radmars says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 6:58am

Awesome shmup! Really well executed, I love the use of the theme here. My only few nitpicks are that having limited vertical movement made it hard to dodge certain things, and that there was no time to pick up loose powerups once you beat a level. Difficulty was a bit inconsistent (sometimes things got out of control really quickly, other times the level was easy) but I was able to beat it. Also I'm not sure if this was an issue with my laptop keyboard or not but holding down Z didn't fire consistently, so I had to button mash which was annoying. Love the graphics & the general style of everything, and the story. Great job!

Afendar says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:13am

nice game. pixel art is great but little hard for me or i'm noob xd. Very nice game ;).

crucknuk says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:41pm

Excellent entry! It is really well made for a compo! Moreover, it is fun to play and is really addictive! Good job ;)

OddballDave says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:49pm

Loved it. Probably my favourite entry. Good stuff.

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:23am

Awesome graphics, I love pico-8! Great game too, very fun! c:

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]