Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sheep Escape

by d_0o_d - Compo Entry

This game, Sheep Escape is all about rescuing sheep from the harsh hands of... someone.
Try growing the population while handling up to 2x6 buttons.
The controls are displayed above the sheep. For the first one, this would be 'q' to interact with other sheep and 'w' for jumps.

Jump over the crate on the left to exit the level, but not before you have gathered enough sheep!

Have fun playing the game. This ludum dare was a lot of fun, I hope I'll see you guys next time again :)

For the Linux players: you have to use wine. I'm really, really sorry. As a linux user myself, but OpenSSL was having difficulties with Fedora and I didn't have time to fix it, therefore I couldn't export with godot. But it works just as well.

And it also seems, that the Mac version is broken. Please use wine instead. I think this mistake is on Godots side, though I think I know why (but I can't fix it right now).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#217Innovation3.60
#233Theme4.00
#233Graphics3.60
#300Overall3.47
#446Fun3.20
#2001Coolness30%

Comments

Tetha says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:43am

Hmm, I cannot run this program on Win10.

Scanned it, didn't find any known malware, but after I run it, the folder just goes into an infinite loading circle, the executable spawns 4 unkillable processes and doesn't do anything else. After that I'm forced to reboot. Sad day.

If I can do something to troubleshoot this, let me know.

Tetha says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:56am

Ok, I got it to work. apparently some protection mechanism is way too zeleaous for it's own good and block io.

Tijn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:30pm

I tried to run the Mac version, but it crashes immediately after it starts :'(

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:21pm

If anyone else could confirm that, I will delete the OS/X link and will point them to use wine as well. That should work.

willchil says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:52pm

The Mac version wouldn't open, so I tried running the executable from terminal, and it gave me this error:

ERROR: create: Condition ' !create_func ' is true. returned: 0
At: core/os/mutex.cpp:39.
ERROR: cleanup: ObjectDB Instances still exist!
At: core/object.cpp:1853.

Looks like it's Godot's fault.

Kakureta says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Neat little game. It becomes very hard to control after a while!

Soka says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:57pm

The idea is fun but it becomes a bit tideous and the concentration to control all the sheeps doesn't let me have fun, maybe if you polish it a bit in the future it could be a really good game

misteak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:57pm

wow, this game is hard because of all the input buttons... all my sheep died hahaha

Beanallean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Love the chaos of having like 6 six sheep running around doing their thing. I feel like it needs a lose condition though, because as is it's just a sandbox. Also I saved 3/3 and eventually 8/3 sheep and nothing happened, which confused me because I never saw the "real challenge." Did I miss something or is that it? Either way, great job!

Blobo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:58pm

I met the goal of 3 sheep leaving the area, however nothing happened.

BoltKey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Man, this is so hard. I finally finished second level after a lot of trying. But I like it. Unique take on the two buttons theme. Could use some music.

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:08pm

These graphics are superb. Well done! The gameplay is interesting. I like the mechanic you have included to "add" more sheep. ;) Also, those "baaaa" sound effects made me laugh every time. Good stuff!

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:10pm

I fixed it.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:53am

It doesn't run on Win 10 :( It just stops working.

nopogo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Laughed way to hard at the first gif of this on irc. Loves the humour of the laying eggs part. What I did not expect was a surprisingly difficult game ! cool concept, great execution. Loved the art style and the little meeehs, if only they weren't so bloody stupid and all fall to their death

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:13am

funny - finished level 1 - getting into it and boom you gotta put a BIG hole in the game - very mean - overall very good and i like the censored mating - very cheeky - nice job

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:08am

I feel like I have mastered the sheeps now

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]