Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Right in the wood

by Meta-link - Compo Entry

Try to get author medals and share your best times in comments !

So here is my entry for LD34, I worked on the "2 button controls" theme. In fact, I started the jam with another idea, but after one day in, I put it aside and start with this one !

Controls :
- Use only right and up arrow key to play !
Special keys :
- M to mute/unmute music
- R to restart a level
- Escape to quit

So Right in the wood is a classic top down racing game, but the main feature is : you can ony accelerate and turn right ! This way, the race becomes harder and a kind of fun. I found this very interesting, so I tried to push as far as I could on the level design (even if I would have done more levels).

List time !

Things I liked doing this game :
- The car physics
- The vector graphics
- Setting author times
- Level design ! (except for level 5, I didn't have more time to make it better)

Things I wish I could add in the game :
- Online and local leaderboard
- More level
- More level mechanics (like jumping across a river)
- Difficulty levels with different cars (I implemented it, but I didn't have the time to create the selection screen ...)

This game was created with :
- GameMaker
- Illustrator and Photoshop
- SFXR


In the end, I really enjoyed create this game, and more than that, playing it and try to beat my own records ! So I hope you will have fun trying it, thanks for reading, and see you next LD !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#108Fun3.73
#255Overall3.54
#282Theme3.96
#483Innovation3.15
#581Graphics2.92
#630Mood2.76

Comments

CogComp says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Nice game. A bit hard for my taste, but fun!

in3orn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:04pm

Nice game. The last round frustrated me a little bit, but finally I got the medal. Total time: 49,71 :)

https://twitter.com/_krakers/status/676839910133932034

jigalx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:03pm

This was super hard, but super fun!

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:34pm

This was really fun, the controls were actually cool and challenging! Well done!

Zulgot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Fun swift game :)

exhidor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:36pm

A really nice game ! i love it ! It hard to master but really funny !!

Indie L says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:36pm

A great game!Nice job ;D

monetai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:41pm

That was really fun and well made, good job guy!!

jlouisB says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:41pm

I like this usage of the theme.
It's fun and frustrating, a bit hard !

TeamCalin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:04pm

Smart way of using the theme in a racing game! Had a lot of fun :)

Herzucco says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:53am

The game is so HARD but so COOL !
You really have to tryhard it to obtain the best times !

Lullaby says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Hey dude! It's actually a pretty nice game, moreover if you know it has been done in 24 hours...pretty impressive!

The time-scoring stuff is making the job, and you really want to start again and again until you check all the races with the Author Medal.

Again nice job, with pretty victor graphics ;)

srakowski says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Very hard game, but that makes it extremely fun. Love the idea of drifting for this theme. Well done.

SirJavaGaming says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Too hard but a quite nice idea!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]