Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Rise

by Crafting4U - Compo Entry

Hi, I'm Crafting4U. I'm a 13 year old programmer, and this is my 6th time going into Ludum dare. I think out of all my entries, this one has been the best overall. I had a lot of fun about making this game, and I would like to know what you thought about the game.

I chose growing as the theme, because I didn't really like 2 button controls. The game only has 4 levels (not including the tutorial level), so its short but believe me, level design is a lot more time consuming than you think, especially with the amount of mechanics there is in the game.

I decided to opt out of audio, because eclipse was being mean. First of all, it didn't let me export the game all together, second it exported but it didn't play sound. It was fine with me because the sounds were used using a 16-bit sound generator, and they didn't affect the game that much overall.

There are a few bugs (like the game saying you didn't collect the coin when you have), but overall I am very happy with this game!

There is a tutorial/instructions in the game. Enjoy! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#323Innovation3.40
#439Humor2.45
#627Fun2.96
#685Mood2.67
#716Overall2.96
#759Theme3.33
#808Graphics2.40

Comments

gallerdude says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:32am

Very innovative gameplay! Levels are fun, and mechanics are really cool. Make sure you do the tutorial, it explains a lot!

ProgramGamer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:43am

Decent little game, but the controls felt weird to use and I glitched through a wall into the void on the second level. Still, nice implementation of the growth theme!

merrak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:47am

Clever design! This was a fun little game.

One of the levels crashed on me, though, and I had to restart. I think it occurred when I moved the mouse over a water tile. Here's the terminal output:

Exception in thread "AWT-EventQueue-0" java.lang.NullPointerException
at java.util.LinkedList.node(LinkedList.java:577)
at java.util.LinkedList.get(LinkedList.java:477)
at com.harrisonguest.ldjam.ld34.input.MouseInput.mouseMoved(MouseInput.java:27)
at java.awt.Component.processMouseMotionEvent(Component.java:6570)

Nullz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:59am

Good game, make sure to do the tutorial though!

Nanolotl says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:25am

Great job with this. While it was a bit buggy and the controls weren't all that smooth, the mechanics were very unique and well used. Well done.

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:29am

Pretty cool little game! It locked up on me a couple of times though :(

mrjorts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:46am

Cool idea. Very nice to include a tutorial. I like how the non linear level layout makes you have to explore around to find what to do. I had the same problem with levels freezing up, though.

purenickery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:53am

This was a really good little game! I liked the main mechanic and the use of the theme. My only two complaints were the jittery camera and that it sometimes didn't recognize clicks.

Awesome job!

Gyfis says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:56am

Very good game mechanisms and level design! But crashed and also, and the spikes are way too dangerous...

MinusKelvin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:01am

Sometimes crashes for me with this exception:

Exception in thread "Game Loop" java.lang.NullPointerException
at java.util.LinkedList.node(LinkedList.java:577)
at java.util.LinkedList.get(LinkedList.java:477)
at com.harrisonguest.ldjam.ld34.Handler.render(Handler.java:26)
at com.harrisonguest.ldjam.ld34.Game.render(Game.java:204)
at com.harrisonguest.ldjam.ld34.Game.run(Game.java:172)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:745)

I can't actually beat the first level since this happens too frequently.

MinusKelvin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:33am

Ooh, the crash didn't happen until level 3 this time. Interesting game.

amras0000 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:41pm

The concept and mechanics are solid, but the game feels very unstable and rough around the edges.
You can hover in the air slightly if you hold the jump button down, and rubbing against walls while jumping boosts your jump as well.
The hitboxes on the obstacles are a bit unforgiving as well.

Good concept, though.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:13am

Can't run the game, but the game looks so interesting. All in all, sucks to be me

miwuc says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Nice innovative game, I liked the mechanics a lot and there are a lot of gameplay elements for a LD gamre. The level design was also pretty good. I liked the first level in particular. Main downside is that it was a bit buggy. And those damn spikes are way too sensitive >_>

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]