Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Molly Flower's

by Agram - Jam Entry

Molly wants to defend her flower's farm.
Her plants will help her to fight the monsters that attack the farm.

Hit the monsters, and make your flowers grow to help you fighting.

How long can you survive ?

Made by Agram, Grelin, Krute, Poupounette, Shakam
for Ludum Dare 34, theme : Growing

Have a good play !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#12Graphics(Jam)4.75
#45Audio(Jam)4.10
#174Overall(Jam)3.72
#233Humor(Jam)3.24
#283Mood(Jam)3.51
#375Theme(Jam)3.82
#581Fun(Jam)3.08
#814Innovation(Jam)2.67
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

Valandre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:56am

Nice entry! Love this art, remind me the best pc-engine games. good job workmates!

lurils says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:51pm

the art is amazing, and I'm fan of this type of game so, great all around!

adsilcott says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:49am

Amazing art and music! I enjoyed playing it too. With some work I could see this being a popular clicker/idle game.

klbrazil says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:03am

love the art and the music!! great game!

blackmagic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:56am

Nice production and very good execution.

fishtrek says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:21pm

mm tbh i was a lot more intrigued before i found out this was a cookie clicker game heh. The pixel art is still very cute and well done though - kudos for getting it all done in 3 days

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Art and music are very well done, amazing work in the time we had. Great entry :)

DraKlaW says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:57pm

I really like the artworks ! However, the game seems to loop after the first havervest (I've never had a boss after my first harvest, and the counter didn't move), wich is a kind of sad :(

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:46am

So well done! The art looks great and performs really well.

tobia88 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:44am

Nice game! love this art!

sonelliot says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:40am

The art is really impressive! Not a massive fan of clicker-style games, but I enjoyed this one anyway! :)

thelasthour says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:42pm

Really great incremental game. I liked how the music changed on the boss fights.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:27pm

That's actually a somewhat unique prestige mechanic for an incremental game, the fact that you need to harvest in order to have a different/better set of crops.

Ganilder says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:29pm

I don´t understand it at all. I just can hit stuff and grow nothing.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:16am

Well polished, nice art-style and audio as well

scorched says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:23am

Nice graphics!
But why the enemies are not fighting back?
Also the font in the intro doesn't suit the pictures IMHO (too pixelated)

mar3k says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:37am

Great art, great music, great game!

ruerob says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:27am

My hand is hurting! Nice game! Was really fun to play!

Neil says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:11am

Amazing art and sound! The game is fun and fits the them pretty well. Great job!

kezhaar says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Awesome graphics on the intro :o

StitchesMagoo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Polished entry, with excellent graphics sound and design. Well don't.

EmmaSKulin says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:18pm

The game is really nice and was going to be the new cookie clicker for me, but then i experienced a few bugs that unfortunately destroyed the game for me:
- (this is not really a bug) there is a point in the game (around wave 70), where you get so much seeds that it is a no-brainer and you dont have to do anything but click on up, so maybe the endgame could be rebalanced a bit
- during the endgame the numbers start to bug, e.g. if you level the mushroom you have to pay 291million then 729 million and then outta nowhere like 10 and then there is a point at which you have so much seeds (there is written 1.5aa or something) and you lose all abnd from this point on the number is always de- an increasing between 20 and 100 seeds whilst there are numbers like 111231421 written on the side where you get the seeds
So all in all it would be very nice, if you had a look at the endgame to make this game (which was very funny to play) worthy to be one of the games for my daily routine, because i really like its concept and it reminds me of clicking bad or cookie clicker just in better (without the bugs please).
I hope you could understand something and want to gratulate you to this remarkable game.

EmmaSKulin says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:23pm

I have to add something:
I don't know whether this is intended, but i think it's not.
I can youse all seed places from the beginning on, no matter if they are field or just grass, they are usable for me.

markusfisch says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Very nice! Impressive graphics for that small amount of time.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Great clicker game! Beautiful graphics and nice music! I really enjoy this kind of game and I hope you improve this one!
Great Job!

gelisam says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 5:10pm

High production values! But a bit unbalanced: I think the more expensive flowers aren't really worth their extra cost.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]