Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sea Cucumber Runner 2D

by takemikazuchi545 - Compo Entry

This is my entry to LD34. I decided to go with both themes, "two button control" and "growth". You play as a sea cucumber in an infinite runner world. The twist is when you run into food and eat it, your character grows. You can shrink by pressing "X" to eviscerate your organs*. Certain parts of levels require you to be at certain sizes so timing food consumption and shrinking is critical.

* Actual sea cucumber behavior: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Evisceration_%28autotomy%29

EDIT: I've updated the builds with a small fix to one of the ground colliders that was causing players to get stuck.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#228Humor2.94
#236Graphics3.59
#363Audio2.89
#618Mood2.78
#715Theme3.40
#716Overall2.96
#750Fun2.74
#895Innovation2.23

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:47am

Fun Game! It's really challenging, but I finished it!

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:19am

i dig the art style
but for some reason the movement feel stuttering

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:22am

couldnt get it to load on web, consider webGL

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:23am

interesting game, the art style is nice and clean.

bushmango says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:25am

Super cute main character and song, but waaaay to hard.

siege says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:31am

Eviscerated myself completely, made it to the end of the world, flew off into blue.

Frenchie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:34am

Cute graphics! But I had a really hard time controlling the player. I would get stuck in the ground sometimes and I once died just from landing :(

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:34am

Great graphics! The sound loop was a bit short! Very challenging! I hated that cactus at more than one moment lol!! Also a bit of an issue with stuttering? Otherwise it's a really fun little platformer. Good job!

misson20000 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:21am

Unity Web Player doesn't count as Web (to me, at least. Needs a plugin not available on Linux), can you change the link to say "Unity Web Player" or something along those lines?

Chaserbrown says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:27am

I managed to exploit a glitch where you press "x" while the smallest size. It essentially keeps on side-scrolling while popping the Sea Cucumber out of existence! I love how you incorporated actual Sea Cucumber behavior!

Duobix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:28am

Too hard, I can't jump high enough to say that this isn't frustrating.

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:38am

Nice game!! But the game seems to be a bit laggy with the web build...
Controls do feel clunky... But awesome work! :)

gkxd says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:40am

The main character is really cute. The difficulty is a bit high at the beginning; I would've liked to see a less steep difficulty ramp.

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:11am

You get top humour for making a Sea Cucumber game! ( http://bit.ly/1QnLzSu )

I liked the growing mechanic a lot.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:36am

The whole "press x to eviscerate organs" thing is pretty funny but the game is a little too unforgiving with the jumps. I like how you ease the player into the game by introducing the mechanics gradually instead of just dumping it all in one place

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:36am

The whole "press x to eviscerate organs" thing is pretty funny but the game is a little too unforgiving with the jumps. I like how you ease the player into the game by introducing the mechanics gradually instead of just dumping it all in one place. Also, cute sea cucumber is cute

ruscoe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:54am

Cool concept. Possibly a bit too difficult at the start, but fun once you get the hang of it.

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:10am

Fun game, really a challenge. Worked fine for me.

veverichka says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Hard, yet somehow addictive. Good job!

PlasmaErnst says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Nice game, though it was very hard for me (only got to level two). At times the Cucumber would stop, messing up my timing - unfair. Good job overall, a pitty my slow reflexes kept me from completing.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:31am

Hey guys. Thanks for all the feedback and comments. I've updated the game to fix an issue where people were getting stuck and losing as a result. I would love to tweak the difficulty but I feel like that wouldn't be in the spirit of the rules since it would change much of the design. If I end up polishing this more I'll definitely post links though. Thanks again!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:17pm

I'm getting old, my reactions aren't fast enough! ;D
Love the chippy music and retro oldskool fee. :)

RoseNinja says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:24am

like the music, but won't jump when press space good game tho

DonEngland says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:07am

There was a bit of stuttering that made the jumping difficult in some places. Especially the triple obstacle plus bread in level 3. I like the graphical style!

disdanes says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:56am

This was really challenging and fun, I also liked the clean art style.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:45am

Really solid gameplay. Great game.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:52am

Absolutely lovely artwork in this game. I just love the style!

There seems to be a little stutter whenever I hit the ground -- it looks like it might be because the character is actually falling ever so slightly through the ground upon landing, but I'm not sure.

The game definitely is challenging, but I worry that it's too much in the direction of frustrating/tedious challenge, at least at the start.

sikosis says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:00am

Very cool graphics but brutal gameplay with the steps to jump. Great entry.

Ludic says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:05am

The graphics are good and music is funy, but the control is tough and the game is to hard, it would be good if the jump was highest or gravity force lower.

dustyroom says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:26am

Think it would be nice made a higher jump.

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:26am

Love the presentation and humor in your game! Thinking about a sea cucumber for a platformer is not a simple task at all, really creative and innovative stuff :D Wish we could get a bit further though, it's incredibly challenging ;) Great work!

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:45am

Uh.... so it took me a good 10 minutes to get past the first stair case.

After that I couldn't really find it fun anymore. I tried to! I got up to level 3 and then was like "no thanks"

DrFallos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Seacucumber is fun! i haven't seen scores or progress while running.

monetai says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:32pm

The character is cute and the controls and physics are good but, wow, this is way too hard ! I finally gave up after trying 30 times to pass the first steps.

knason says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Cute, fun game it was a bit hard I never seemed to get past that 3 step obstacle, but I really liked the music and the graphic was nice that sea cucumber was really cute! well done!

nassi says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Barely made it to the second level after countless restarts. The stuttery movement and the jumping not feeling too good made it a tough sell although the art and the aesthetic in general was pretty solid. Also I feel like the mechanic makes the game somewhat trial-and-error based, since at least my reflexes aren't good enough to adapt to a given situation fast enough by shrinking myself.

tobia88 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:23am

interesting game here!

Dec 29, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Found it strangely hard... I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/EztdlDzFrUE

FiSilva says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Nice art style, but a bit too hard for me.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:20pm

Solid entry. Barely got past second level. Pretty small timings on the jumps. Interesting idea with the growing of your character and shrinking.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]