Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Radivader

by Piscythe - Compo Entry

A shooter game with enemies that grow over time. The player's ship constantly moves forward, and can only be controlled with two buttons - for turning left and right. Complete with 7 enemy types, upgrades, and a challenging boss battle at the end.

-Use the Left and Right Arrow Keys or A and D to turn.
-Fly straight to accelerate, turn to decelerate.
-Press both keys to brake.
-You get XP for each enemy that spawns and each enemy that dies.
-Pause with P, resume with any key

Coded in Starling using FlashDevelop. Graphics are from Inkscape and put into a TexturePacker Atlas. Music made with lmms and sound with BFXR.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#143Fun3.65
#228Audio3.20
#263Overall3.52
#433Mood3.03
#578Theme3.61
#590Humor2.11
#640Graphics2.81
#752Innovation2.65

Comments

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:02am

Cool idea. But I found that if I just flew in a straight line, I'd continue to get better, than if I tried to move around. Overall was still good and has lots of potential.

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Simple but fun. Music was great. Gets very very difficult by 4th or 5th round but still entertaining!

Tuism says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Some really good ideas, many of them in fact, but the overall mash of them doesn't feel exciting. If this were a landscape, it'd be pretty flat. I think a good game needs to have some rhythm, highs and lows. This one feels like a straight line.

- The player movement could do with some organicness. Like have the rotation accelerate a bit, so that the player can adjust in smaller increments while not letting them being stuck rotating too slowly.

- The upgrade system is cool, but ultimately the impact of each small thing feels too small for me to care a lot about each click.

- Progress = death? Where's my risk and reward? Do I progress forever no matter how well/badly I play?

- Didn't realise the plane wrapped. I think in that case the shots should wrap too and have a range that disappears after its range. It doesn't make sense to have the ship wrap but not the shots. Do the enemies wrap? Think they should too.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Very fun indeed. Innovative and easy to play.

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Nice take! I finished it and enjoyed it a lot. :)

icereci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Tank Controls was a bit hard me. Still enjoyed the game. Good work.

A333 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Nice game! I've liked a variety of enemy roles.
And you've even managed to include the boss! great job.

SadSmile says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Solid game. Nice music, simple to understand and fun to play ^^

rzuf says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:55am

Gameplay is what makes it decent.
Music is what makes it goddamn legend!
Really, music here is astounding. :D And i love games that allows you to get ridiculously overpowered! Didn't beat the boss tho, he had like gazillion HPs and after shooting him for half of day he was barely scratched.
Good game!

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:00pm

I liked it!

BroCade says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Your core mechanic is a great idea, it just needs some testing and refining... maybe you should be able to turn faster, maybe the ship speeds up faster. Adding player feed back, sound fx when astroids die, having then be pushed by your shots, exct. little things like that will go a long way to making your game "feel" better. Overall your ideas are very good, just work on your execution, but there is alot of potential here

Also i get a SERIOUS star control 2: the urquan masters, vibe from your game, if you havent played it recommend it

thelasthour says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:25pm

What a great game! That progression felt really good and damn, that was a hard boos fight!

someone says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:36pm

That was great. I like the inclusion of the boss, that was a nice surprise.
The difficulty was well balanced. The boss was challenging, and when fully upgraded you could get back there really quickly if you die which was good.

DarkGrisen says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:19pm

I was sooooo close to beat the boss >.<
Good game!

Wir says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Died pretty fast at the beginning but after some time I got the hang of it. I kind of felt immortal against the enemys following the player (warp, shot them in the back and warp again)

Anyway thank you for your long comment on our game.
I don´t know if you read this or want to know it but I´ll tell you anyway ( I think there should be some kind of message system on LD ).
If I remember correctly we had a pathfinding but one of us thought it would be cooler without, so we tried it.

We plan on spending another week or so to complete this game (we will spend much of that time in mapmaking and storypolishing, maybe even a campaign).
With the new maps the feeling of being a swarm will get a lot better I assume.

Greetings Team Wir

kardfogu says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:51pm

Very well made game, the mechanics are fun, the game runs like a charm, the boss builds up the mood, the audio is nice, the visuals are asthetically perfect and matching and both themes are perfectly built into the game. Awesome entry.
Also, thanks for the critic rating of my game. X)
Keep up the good work!

- Kardfogú

Nega Drive says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:14pm

Neat game. Props for adding upgrades and progression! Fighting against the ever expanding enemies gives a nice oppressive feel to the game. Easy to pick up and play. Good stuff!

Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:29am

[ETC from Creative Sectors]
My opinion is that the music is not really fits the game, but the other aspects are fit together. It was nice to see two themes at the same time. The vehicle was a little bit slow and sometimes unresponsive, so I usually end up in a circle of enemies. It has the potential, and I miss the warping shots, that could help me to clear the areas faster.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]