Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Rainbow Maker!

by Milo - Compo Entry

In this game, one controls the growth of a rainbow and your goal is to pass through all of the stars in each level. There are but two controls: Space causes you to jump, and down arrow causes you to bounce off of things with perfect elasticity. As you move, you leave a rainbow behind which then acts like a wall in its own regard and may block your path or be your path depending on how you use them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#334Innovation3.39
#446Theme3.78
#463Fun3.17
#536Overall3.17
#611Audio2.27
#634Graphics2.83
#1922Coolness33%

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:38pm

I enjoyed playing this game, Nice concept!

icereci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Amazing puzzles. I loved level designs.
Also bo-boboboo-bobob-bob-bo boing... ding!

pinion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Didn't run for me. I'm 64 bit windows so took that download. When I run the exe nothing happens.

Any suggestions?

Evannex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:53pm

32 bit version for windows doesn't launch, the 64 bit version took some fiddling to get working. If it doesn't work try redownloading and running as admin, that made it work for me ^_^ Using Windows 10 in case that's relevent.

Once I got it working, it was a good game! Nice puzzles and interesting concept. Well done!

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:08am

nice game!

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:10am

Simple Game, with awesome level design, some bugs, but still, awesome

Anti says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Really cool idea and nice level design. It seemed a bit buggy at times and music could get a little repetive. But nice entry!

awesomerex says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 6:09pm

I can't run the OS/X version. The zip file won't decompress.

donvermo says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Solid start for a puzzle game! Definetely could use some extra polish and bugfixes, but I definetely like the concept!

camlang says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Nice simple game, interesting puzzles.

squigglez says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:14pm

interesting concept but i found it was glitchy. did not enjoy the high pitched music or the repetitive boing sound. needs more work.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:25pm

The Windows (64 bit) version looks like it immediately quits when you run it. No messages or anything.

ZpeedTube says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Can't run the windows 64 bit verison??

Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Also can't run the game at all. The 64bit launches a window that closes immediately, the 32bit does nothing. This is on Windows 10.

Milo says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Hmm... I'm not sure what's up with the Windows versions; unfortunately, I have no Windows machine to test things on - I just trusted Processing to export it properly.

Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Windows version is working fine for me. Like the simple puzzle game, level design makes it work well.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:19pm

Game worked fine on my computer, 64 bit windows 10

I liked the concept. It took me a few tries to get the second last level working as I kept bouncing weirdly which would then throw me off. I felt clever when I beat the last level. Nice job!

Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Lovely rainbow, well made game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/iU4q-3Z4nkI

scorched says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Like the idea and mood, lacks auto-restarting the level when out of screen or stuck. Also on my Windows 7 64-bit computer the 64-bit build doesn't work (nothing happens when I click the executable), while 32-bit one does work

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]