Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

A Genetic Mess

by sprawl - Jam Entry

Train and breed your creature in order to escape !

Using (bad) genetic algorithms, the game make the creatures evolve and adapt to this harsh world.
Can you breed the ultimate creature?


WARNING : UNFINISHED GAME. PLAY AT YOUR OWN RISK.
MAC AND LINUX VERSIONS UNTESTED.


CREDITS :
Alexis Lessard
Antoine Brouillette

Music :
"One-eyed Maestro" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Fonts :
http://www.dafont.com/the-constellation-of-heracles.font
http://www.dafont.com/messen.font

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#23Innovation(Jam)4.14
#197Humor(Jam)3.33
#273Theme(Jam)3.95
#492Audio(Jam)3.05
#535Mood(Jam)3.19
#732Overall(Jam)3.09
#908Graphics(Jam)2.50
#921Fun(Jam)2.59
#2073Coolness26%

Comments

ashdnazg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:44am

Cool! Fun idea, and I love the 'monster in a glass box' vibe. The slow pace of generating children was a bit of a hangup -- I wanted to keep running and clicking buttons because that gave me more feedback, faster. Was there a link between the fitness function and the number of points you get?

Also, hilarious quotes after finishing the fitness test.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:13am

nice game!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:09pm

The good:
- although there was just music and not many other sounds, I LOVED the theme song.
- physics based breeding game!? Who could ask for more?

The bad
- long loading time to generate partners (this could be mitigated by generating fewer than 5 creatures at a time or just saving old ones and allowing the player to delete them as he/she sees fit so free up slots)

WakeOfLuna says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Very special game indeed. Unfortunately requires a lot of patience, but the concept is brilliant. Well done.

anv says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Very nice concept, would like to see it finished and properly polished. Unfortunately, my monsters when trying to escape usually just fell over and chilled until their endurance ran out - I must have failed as a trainer:< Good music selection, UI could use some improvement (font scaling in particular).

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:40pm

I really liked this, it showed how genetic evolution worked and kept a challenge.

TiByte says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Works fine on Ubuntu 14.04, but the Font-Size on the Text element is pretty small, so the anti-alias looks bad. (that's a Unity setting thing).
I think you should exclude the "Audio(Jam)" rating, because it's not your music.

doitle says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Very cool game. I don't understand much of what it is doing but that doesn't matter. Music was perfect for the mad science vibe. I never managed to get more than 5.0 to the right but I still like this. Generating children and random creatures does take a long time and hurts the pacing of things a bit.

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Very ambitious concept!! A shame you couldn't flesh it out more than that really. I did spend half an hour on it before I realize what the winning condition quote really meant... Good stuff!

Wevel says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Interesting idea, seemed quite difficult to get the monsters to go anywhere and generating partners of children took quite a while

yumaikas says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Liked the music, but it was hard to figure out how the monsters were supposed to work.

sprawl says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:05pm

@TiByte : Good point about the audio, I was a bit in a hurry during the submission and forgot about it ! Thanks for the feedback on linux version.

Molpe says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:13pm

This was fun! I don't know if I understood what am I suppose to do, but it was fun xD Great quotes! The generating times are very long, also I couldn't get back to any creature in the family tree, it asked me if I want to, but then nothing happened. The music is awesome, nice choice!

I've made a let's play video if you want to check it out:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OuV9jvz80HU

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]