Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Witchgarden Leafiosa

by phi6 - Jam Entry

Our resident WITCHGARDENER wakes up to find all her plants are destroyed. Her only clues are the numerous puddles of sludge leading into the dense forest.

An open world adventure game with platforming, potion crafting and Metroidvania elements.


Controls
--------
Arrow Keys/WASD to Move
Z/Space to Jump
X to Harvest Ingredient
I to open Inventory, Crafting and Recipe Book
C to Throw Potion
ESC to Pause/Show Options Menu


Hint
----
Experiment with as many combinations of ingredients as you can. Not all ingredients can be paired to make potions. Good luck!


Recipe Book
-----------
Here are the potion recipes in case you get stuck and want to progress. We've added this help screen to the latest version.

1. Flower Pollen + Onion Flower = Lily Pad Potion
2. Bamboo Leaf + Cabbage Seed = Leaf Bridge Potion
3. Cactus Flower + Berries = Burr Breaker Potion
4. Mushroom + Rubber Plant = Giant Mushroom Potion
5. Artichoke + Cabbage Seed = ??????????????????


Credits
-------
Art: @MD_Doodles and @downplusb
Audio: @ogresounds
Code: @phi6


Soundtrack
----------
Streamable here: https://soundcloud.com/ogresound/witch-garden-leafiosa-ost-ld34
Produced by Robin Ogden (Ogre Sounds)


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#24Graphics(Jam)4.65
#49Mood(Jam)4.11
#53Audio(Jam)4.06
#73Overall(Jam)3.93
#213Innovation(Jam)3.56
#426Humor(Jam)2.79
#434Fun(Jam)3.24
#573Theme(Jam)3.61

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Wow o_o like wow. This art style is awesome :D
I played the game mostly wondering around enjoying the art.
A bit confusing since I couldn't combine any items i collected (didn't know how, they kept failing).
Also nice music.

As a side note for devs: you don't have to include the .pdb files with the game. It just makes the folder bigger for no reason :)

Good job! (especially for the artists XD)


Cheers,
Morco (tyrants.not.found team)

phi6 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:07pm

I've included a (SPOILER ALERT) recipe book in the description above, in case you get stuck. Unfortunately we didn't have time to properly implement a recipe unlocking system. Something for the future!

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:41pm

I really liked the art style of this game! I enjoyed it a lot

Yamzho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Impressive ! Well done guys ! The art, the music, the mood: amazing !

themadknights says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Wow... awesome

sleepYxy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Amazing. Really nice art and sound!

It's a bit hard without the recipe book but I like the whole exploring thing and those click moments when crafting a potion.
"Burr Breaker.. hmm *click* oh yeah this cactus flower to the south!"

Also a bug:
In the southeast there is a mountain path which can be walked into, if you fall down you respawn in the air and can't get onto land. Maybe close the thing?

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Very pretty! I like the idea. Could be a really great game. Wish there was a potion to make me walk faster haha :D

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Wow, very complete game! Love the cell shaded/3D hybrid style, amazing you could get that all done for LD!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:13pm

I had a really hard time figuring out what to do, but honestly with how amazing it looked and the music and atmosphere, I was quite happy just wandering around combining things and exploring.

I'd love to see this turned into something more! I was intrigued to find out why the sludge had appeared.

Rodaja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Art style is really nice, it stands out, congrats! The combination of 2D and 3D elements is nicely done, altough being a platform heavy game, the main character could have done with a shadow in order to make jumps a bit less frustrating, right now you just don't see how far you are jumping. Good, moody, relaxing game.

lurils says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:39am

very nice entry, pretty full of content and nice art too.

Move127 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:41am

The art is amazing!

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:43am

A very relaxing platformer :)

The artstyle is very well-done, even with the simple geometry. Reminded me of Paper Mario.

As someone else said, I could just wander the scenery without much of a worry.

Awesome work!

ohmaigawd says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:45am

This is a beautiful game and I played to the end. Couldn't have done it without the spoiler book :)

TomBoogaart says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:45am

wow i really love the audio in this game, sets a very relaxing mood. I didn't really know what to do though, but I loved to just walk around an relax

ohmaigawd says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:45am

This is a beautiful game and I played to the end. Couldn't have done it without the spoiler book though :)

andyman404 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:46am

Wow! Beautiful game! Well done.

adaFish says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:49am

Gorgeous game, great concept, and fun to play. This is really impressive for a LD jam. I hope you expand on this because I'd love to play more!

newbeings says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:54am

Super impressive game for 72 hours! It doesn't feel like it was made in a short time. Great graphics - beautiful feel. Great jump!

I didn't have the patience to finish, but I grokked the mechanic easily enough. It feels like a game for kids - really soothing with find and combine puzzles.

I think I'd like to have to combine something sooner in the game so that I understand that better.

Great Great jorb!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:57am

Love the art style.
Really enjoyable travel across this world :)
It could be cool if we get a combination book into the house, cause it's currently a little bit to difficult to find the right potion :p

Shivur says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:11am

Excellent Game!

Eldraev says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:55am

I love the graphics style of this one. The textures and sprites look amazing together. The concept is cute and fun even if the game isn't the longest. The music gives the game just the right atmosphere and the dynamic change in the "boss fight" was done really nicely. The only thing I think might be nice is if there was a small shadow under the character to indicate your position when you jump in the platforming parts.

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:33am

It's awesome! I think I would pay for a polished version of this! :D

Tapehead says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:36pm

overall a cool game :)

Softsound says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Amazing art style, downloading now!

mockthebear says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:00pm

the art woork, with the msuic and scenario... omg!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Excellent creative team at work here making a very high quality entry. Sort of Paper Mario like but different, will try and complete this one later.

Neil says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Incredibly impressive art and end result! I really liked it, glad I played the version with the recipe book, otherwise it might have been a bit frustrating. I stuggled a bit with the perspective and some of the jumps, but a great game!

cynicalmonkey says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:44pm

i liked the papercraft art style

wine says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Really nice work :) Well done!

tayl1r says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:54pm

I just finished it! Was a bit lost until I found the path down to the water but it's all good. So nice looking and polished.

Bacontree says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Wow! This is a winner for sure. Love it!

ajopart says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:01pm

5/5 everywhere ! As simple as that

Herzucco says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:33pm

REALLY good graphics, I'm jalous about how you manage to mix 3D and 2D with so much talent

OddballDave says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Outstanding graphics, and great audio. The crafting was a little frustrating when non of the combos where working and I'd have to keep going back and forth to restock. Other than that it's a great entry. Good stuff.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:50pm

This is just all around lovely! Fun title and nice set-up. I always like potion-crafting in games, and the graphics are great, though the more cartoony sprites stand out a bit against the style of the backgrounds. However, neither style is bad. I love the fact that it's set on a floating island, and the protagonist is cute. And the audio is one of the best I've heard in an LD game.

The one thing that brings it down a bit for me is that some of the jumps are way too hard. Most of them only needed practice, but having to do diagonal jumps on the lily-pads almost made me ragequit. Other than that, the game world is very well-designed.

So great premise, great mood, great graphics/music, lots of ingredients. What's not to like?

Fun thing I noticed (spoiler-spaced for your convenience):



The final jumping sequence had me stumped, until I found out that you could place bounce-mushrooms on top of one another.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:17am

Love the graphics

Aaranos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:27am

Really well made. The art is fantastic and the audio fits very well. The gameplay is some what tedious but also fun and creative.

I've attached a screen shot of a bug I found. I ventured into the mountains because it let me and then endless falling loop.
http://i.imgur.com/1ZYGYAt.png

oz2mura says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:57am

Love the Art style, music really fits with the game and helps set the mood, the day/night cycle also helps set the mood. Took a while to figure out what combines into what, and had to manage the resources to make sure that I could. Would love to see a postmortem for this project.

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:30am

Thanks @Aaranos, the bug is now fixed :)

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:32pm

saved to my games folder, simply because I love exploring this little world you built!

perfect length for a LD game, and I truly hope you build upon this, I just absolutely love the environment / atmosphere / overall vibe of this game.

great art, lovely audio, solid gameplay, good, good, good stuff. Excellent job, one of my favorites! :)

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Wow! The sense of discovery that you inspire with the visuals, music, and open ended gameplay is really impressive. The 2D-on-3D art style is particularly striking.

I'd love to have the main character move more quickly, and adding a little shadow below her would help with platforming.

All in all, beautifully done. Congratulations!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:29pm

This is sucha a great game! You really did an amazing job on the graphics for such a short timespan! I think that the shadow under the character should be more evident since makes navigation in the 3d environement easier.

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:53pm

I finished it without the lily pad potion, or the recipe book..! I feel accomplished..!
The game looks amazing, and the sound works really well...

I didn't really see much connection to the themes, outside of it being a garden, and you grow some mushrooms...

sonelliot says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:51pm

Amazing game guys! I love the art style and aesthetics. I really enjoyed exploring the world and figuring out which potions I needed to progress. The Fartichoke potion made me laugh. :)

Wevel says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:51am

Lovely art and music

spotco says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:47am

Ridiculously pretty, the platforming is a bit frustrating.

FiSilva says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Gorgeous mix of 2D/3D art and lovely music.

Got stuck in a falling and respawning loop

hyperscope says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:21am

This game is most definitely in the top 3 LD games I've played for visuals. The game as a whole was very strong but I can't stress enough how on point the visuals were from top to bottom. The subtext was very polished, unobtrusive and helped the game flow in the right direction. Day/night cycle was a nice touch. Amazing job all around!

PixlWalkr says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:11am

Awesome game, I like the art style also.
Great job!

Alex Rose says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:10pm

Really nice looking, pretty fun. I glitched through the majority of it but it was a fun exploration game. Would've liked shadows for the jumps, 3d platforming is always tough. Also the last boss was a bit anticlimactic. But generally very nice, I like the character design a lot too and the UI.

randomhuman says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:37pm

Really great music and atmosphere, and the gameplay is solid. I did find the combination of cartoony sprites with painterly environments a little bit jarring, even though they were both excellent on their own. Great game overall.

Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:50pm

That was one of the best games I've played for a jam in a very long time. It was beautiful and it played extremely well. It gave me such a Sega Saturn vibe! The whole atmosphere, gameplay, artwork, sound was just spot on. Perfect score dude!

klianc09 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 12:26am

I somehow like the artstyle.
Very time consuming without the recipes, having to walk back and forth when you picked up too few resources takes some time with the pretty slow walking speed.
I'd like to note, that inventory management was quite a hassel, cause I picked up the first resource I found until my inventory was full. When I found the second resource, I had to click a while to drop most of it again. But then it often would pick up the dropped items instead of taking the newly found resource.
Still, it was really enjoyable exploring and building endless leaf bridges.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]