Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Ragnar The Village Defender

by sandbaydev - Jam Entry

Ragnar the Village Defender
(theme: growing)

--- PLAYTHROUGH GIF VIDEO ---
https://twitter.com/sandbaydev/status/676818422508994561

Defend the village from the nasty evil Niddhog that awakes. Upgrade your items to chop wood faster, to hunt better, and to beat Niddhog. Use wood to upgrade your tools at campfire location (consumes 1 wood). Use wood to build houses (consumes 3 wood) to earn more final score points. Hunt deer to get score boost (doubles your current score).

And use your Hammer wisely.

--- CONTROLS ---
A = Move left
J = Move right
E = Toggle weapon (axe=wood chopping, spear=hunt, hammer=end game weapon)
J = Use weapon (each weapon has different effect)
X = spend wood use campfire (=upgrade current weapon) OR build house (=increase your score)

Now only Windows. I try add web + other builds as soon as possible.

Credits etc appear too.

--- EDITS ---
EDIT: (Fixed 2 crash bugs + scoring bug this morning and-reuploaded, Win should work now)
EDIT2: (Scoring bug did not reset your previous game score, meaning you could reach scores high as 1228864... not intended, fixed and re-uploaded)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#509Graphics(Jam)3.47
#603Innovation(Jam)3.00
#1044Fun(Jam)2.27
#1054Overall(Jam)2.53
#2311Coolness14%

Comments

matthewd673 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:33am

"Ooops! That page cannot be found!"

Hjalte500 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:16am

The animations in this game are AMAZING. They're so silly but it doesnt feel out of place. Those deer are great. The game is great. Pretty awesome way of doing things really awesome across the board. The weapons were a little janky but you know.

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:49pm

whoopsie. fixed that 'page cannot be found' also fixed crash bug, and the another crash bug that spawned when I fixed the first crash bug.

maunovaha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Hmm. played your game, it was a bit raw in terms of graphics, but managed to get to a point of "boss" showing up and he beat the crap out of me.. Thus, maybe he should appear a bit sooner so it could be faster gathering of resources and they making a duel?. Anyway, good job.

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:23pm

@hjalte500: thanks for playing!

@maunovaha: my thought is that player must gather wood and then choose which way he goes: axe improves wood gathering, spear is used for hunting (=doubles current score), hammer is the end-game weapon (plus teleport specialty).

And then there's huts: the more housing the faster you gain score.

so it's balancing between them, and when the time is up your hammer level determines your chances of winning (it's a dice roll in the end).

I'm not sure what you mean by 'boss appearing sooner'...?

Either way, thanks for reviewing and playing!

dweebster says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:55pm

That was a weird but fun game, I couldn't kill any deers with the spear, couldn't figure out how to hit them :(

But nice game :)

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:04am

I won! Something I'm noticing about a lot of games is that instructions are not clear (this applies to my game as well). I stood at the fire and just kept pressing x without knowing what was happening. Fortunately I leveled my hammer pretty high and won!

randomhuman says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Bit hard to figure out what is going on, and very quiet, but the art is lovely.

csanyk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:51am

It didn't seem like I could hit anything? Some sound fx would have been helpful feedback to know if I hit or missed. I ended up watching the walkthrough .gif, and it looks cool.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:46pm

I love the deer, they look so cool. Ragnar looks pretty neat too to be fair. I found it a bit confusing (even after carefully reading this page) the first time around but I always love a bit of deforestation. Was good to see a guest appearance from the Niddhog!

andyman404 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:35pm

I like the character and pixelart work you did on the game.

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:04am

The game looks good, I wish there would be music, but it plays well without it too

Mar 29, 2016 @ 12:55am

I like the graphics! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/S5oK4fsls3Q

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]