Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Space Mashers

by jcsirron - Jam Entry

Space Mashers backstory

It seemed like a great gig: you slip into Worfin space, grab the first ship you find, and return it home for a big bonus. Sure, Worfin are big and scary, but they are surprisingly lax about security. Probably something to do with their reputation for eating criminals. Anyway, you were able to get into a Worfin corvette, and activate the automated launch sequence. That’s when you noticed just how difficult is is to read the controls on this ship. You’ve put your AIssistant to work on figuring them out, but so far the information is still coming out at a trickle. At any given time, you have two controls that are responding in (mostly­) comprehensible ways. Between fighting off pursuing Worfin fighters, dodging asteroids, and fixing the finicky hyperdrive, you’ve been kept too busy to tease anything more out of the computers.

Game Play

You will be presented with a series of challenges as you attempt to escape back to your homeworld. For each one, your AIssistant will display the working keys in the lower left portion of your helmet HUD. On occasion, it will even be able to predict what keys will be working for your next challenge. If it can do so, those keys will be displayed in the lower right hand corner of your HUD.

What to do with these keys is sometimes difficult to decipher. Moving the weapons turret or steering the ship involves single­ or double­striking the keys. Repairing systems will require looking at the biggest blinky lights on the interface, and figuring out what key presses are required to guide the repair process. If you can keep the ship going long enough, you’ll make it back home to fame and fortune. Well, fortune, anyway: laying low for a little bit might be a good idea. If you fail one or two challenges, that’s OK: you started out with a bit of a head start on your pursuit. But fail enough challenges, and you’ll be killed in some variety of unfriendly way.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#512Humor(Jam)2.65
#579Innovation(Jam)3.04
#696Audio(Jam)2.21
#743Theme(Jam)3.40
#918Mood(Jam)2.50
#961Graphics(Jam)2.32
#997Fun(Jam)2.40
#1059Overall(Jam)2.52
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:16am

nice game!

kostak says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:56am

This is a fun little game. Nicely done.

JamesTanm says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:47am

I lost, in space!

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:01am

Nice concept. It is not easy to do double taps. I need to press it really quickly

SirJavaGaming says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Chrome prevented download due to a malware found.

jcsirron says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:58pm

I'm not sure what Chrome thinks it's finding, but I just did another scan with AVG to make sure that there aren't any viruses in the .zip file. It found nothing. If you find anything hiding in it, please let me know!

Yvanor says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:01pm

It's quite hard to figure out what to do at first, because when we press the right button there is not sound or visual effect. Anyway, interesting game with a nice concept. Good job ^^

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Nice game and fun graphics. Well done!

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 1:41pm

Pro:
+ Cool concept
+ Fun mechanics
Con:
- Took some time to figure out how to play, even with instructions
- Some BGM would be nice, but I know it's hard on the time frame

Great job!

klianc09 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:06pm

Please note: dark blue text on black background is VERY hard to read.

I am really bad at this, some better feedback on WHAT exactly I did wrong would have been cool. I wasn't always entirely sure what I did wrong or what I was supposed to do.
Still, switching up the two buttons required offered an unique challenge, I like that.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]