Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

01

by suppi - Jam Entry

NOTE
----

I've published a postjam version with mouse support and added a few lines to explain how to play.

----

My unfinished programming game. (Please use the keyboard and NOT the mouse. controls and manual are also in the game page)

A company named CompCompany has been able to discover a revolutionary machine, they call it 'The Computing Machine'.

The Computing Machine, they claim, is very simple to operate as it has only two buttons.

You have been chosen to work on that machine.

Good luck!

Controls:
---------

- Enter - next / run machine
- Escape - back / reset machine / stop execution / close windows
- 0/1 - enter 0 or 1 as input
- i - open inputs window
- o - open outputs window
- t - test and submit solution


How to Play
-----------

- Write a program by pressing 0 and 1 on your keyboard
- Every line has 8 bits. you don't need to press enter
- Open the input and output windows with I and O to test your program
- Try out your program by pressing Enter
- Submit a solution for testing with T (for tests)
- Use Esc to stop machine execution or reset program

- Note: programs will only stop when seeing 11111111 (HALT) or on error. be sure to include them!


Machine Manual
--------------

Included in the game page.

Changes
-------

- Made the controls a little bit more responsive
- Fixed the Input Error bug


Tools:
------

PureScript (-canvas, -signal, -etc)
Spacemacs
Photoshop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#199Innovation(Jam)3.59
#573Theme(Jam)3.61
#693Humor(Jam)2.31
#935Graphics(Jam)2.41
#937Mood(Jam)2.44
#1008Overall(Jam)2.68
#1065Fun(Jam)2.14

Comments

felilix says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:42am

The game looked interesting. Was it Binary number? The output window did not display anything for me.

piper82 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:23pm

nice idea, controls not very responsive.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:25pm

Very cool concept, but the game never displayed output. I think it just froze up...

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:00pm

I didn't really understand how to play it, maybe it's too hard for my artist brain XD But I like the concept and I can see what you were going for. :)

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:24pm

It's an interesting concept, but I'm afraid it is not very accessible for many people. Good work though.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:27pm

the core idea seems interesting. I would like to play a full version of this. For now I can't complete first mission because the output window is empty.

suppi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Hi All, thanks for the feedback. the game is probably not very accessible for many people as TomenLuca mentioned.

Perhaps I didn't explain it right:

- If you are ending a program without 11111111 (HALT) it will not stop
- You stop execution with Esc
- To test your own code, write a program and press enter
- To submit a solution, press T (for tests).

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Not my alley, but I do respect the ground breaking.

Reccy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Really interesting programming game. I'm not familiar with stacks though, so I kinda sucked at it :P
Had fun though!

Ampera says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Good idea. The world needs more ASM programming.
It's a bit hard, and I don't think I would consider it a game, more of an educational tool, but it's neat anyways.

Polith Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Interesting game
I like the concept

MaulUdder says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Thanks for the explanation (if only I read it earlier :) ), that helped a lot. What would also help is if the current assignment can be looked up somehow. I'm returning to it now a few hours later and I forgot the details. Refreshing means starting over again.
Anyway, great idea!

nopogo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Cool concept, back to basics. Interesting take to interpret two buttons as binary. A bit difficult with no clear error messages from the computer

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Cool execution. Didn't feel like much of a game though...

dos says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:51pm

Hmm, am I missing something in the second task?
I'm doing LOADIN, LOADIN, ADD, PRINT, HALT and entered two numbers in inputs window, but I only get "Input Error". Some basic debugging abilities (like showing the line where the error happenend) would be great to have :D

suppi says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:58am

dos, there might be a bug there. try reseting and enter the inputs before running the program.

CalmKai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Cool, but did not work

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Is it realy the game?

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Interesting game idea but some of the commands didn't work.

suppi says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Sir Magic, CalmKai, what, exactly, didn't work?

Manu & Wan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:08pm

A very nice and original idea, but it indeed feels raw and unfinished. The main issues being:

* Lack of a way to cancel the current line without deleting the whole program (...AFAIK)
* This plus the slow responsiveness that make inputs prone to errors is quite frustrating
* Why 8 bits? 4 bits would have sufficed I think, with some tweak of the LOADVAL command.
* The opcodes being off screen, I have to progam the whole thing without actually looking at the game. Displaying them as a post-it sticked to the computer instead would have been a good alternative.

Now I still managed to reach the 3rd level! It's a pretty inspiring entry, which I could have enjoyed a lot with some more polish.

Also if you don't already own it, you probably want to check out TIS-100 by Zachtronics :)

Dege says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Not sure if the game keeps freezing when Running or running tests, or it's me not getting something. The list of instructions, which is crucial to play, is at very the bottom of the page and I noticed only after a while. If it freezes because HALT instruction is not included, maybe you can think about some warning or "restart" button. Anyway, like many said, it's not accessible to the most of people :(

g12345 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:24pm

It's an interesting idea. I wonder if this was how people used to program.

euske says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:41pm

TIS-100?

rnlf says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:31pm

I think I had the same problem as others. When I entered an invalid program, I got an error message, but a seemingly valid program didn't produce any output :-(

rnlf says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Okay, I should actually read the description before playing. With the HALT instruction, things actually happen.

I like the idea, the only problem is that I have to re-enter the whole program every time I make an error. I see how you wanted to replicate the burdensome way our ancestors used to program and appreciate the realism!

randomhuman says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Great concept, but I think it only appeals to programmers. With a few additional features this would be a game I could play for hours. Still one of the most fun games I've played so far.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:06am

Very cool concept! Will admit to getting stuck on the printing down numbers one, but still enjoyed it throughout.

Dec 25, 2015 @ 9:56am

Cool idea, but tricky.
I'd recommend putting the legend next to the game area instead of below it, can't see both at the same time at 1080p =/

(have to rush to my Christmas holiday, sorry for the short comment)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]