Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Toolip!

by davekalina - Jam Entry

A puzzle garden featuring 7 levels of hyperactive cross-breeding flowers!

How to Play:
Fill the flower pots with tulips of the matching color.

Keyboard controls:
Arrow Keys to move the cursor
X selects the next flower type, Z plants the seed.

Credits
David Kalina - Programming and Design
hxlnt - Art, Music, and Design
Made in PICO-8

Known Issues
There are bugs with the PICO-8 exported web-player's music playback that are making the music weirdly clipped. Will try to fix and update the version soon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#79Innovation(Jam)3.86
#327Audio(Jam)3.35
#341Theme(Jam)3.86
#427Overall(Jam)3.41
#449Fun(Jam)3.23
#476Mood(Jam)3.26
#607Graphics(Jam)3.27
#789Humor(Jam)2.06
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

walaber says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:08am

nice! took a bit to get the hang of the goal of the game and the patterns.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Hey, this is really nice.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Took me a while to find out what the patterns of the different flowers were and how everything interacted. But once you get the jist of it, the game is very enjoyable.

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Good job :)
I think it would have benefited from a tutorial

Funske says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:22pm

I enjoyed the game. Music was nice it took a bit to understand what was happening, but after I figured it out the puzzles were really fun.

themadknights says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Wow, this is the first game I see in this LD using Pico-8. Good job! :) The game mechanics are a bit hard to understand at the beginning but then it's really nice!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Pretty interesting game, although I managed to bug it somehow. After criss-crossing the flowers a few times, it went into a growing loop, constantly growing in a pattern around it, making the game unwinnable since it destroyed the nearby flowers. Otherwise, very nice idea!

SiENcE says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Interesting idea to play around with patterns to fullfill a result.

But you better write in the text a short howto. AT first it was not understandable to me, why i can't place the place flowers directly in the pots.

The icons on the right side are flowers. You place them yourself. But in your description you write you plant seeds. Also i would add a second layer for the pots, as it's not clear why you should plant the seeds outside the pots.

I mean...this is totally ridiculous :-).

But i like the idea. It's very innovative!! I also like Pico-8.

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 1:49am

Really fun game! The later levels with the color mixing were really cool.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:10am

Cool! I love more puzzle-based games like these. Really innovative design.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:51pm

Great entry. Love the music and art. Pretty deep little puzzle game.

DecayConstant says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:17pm

Really digging the retro look, feel, and sound!
Would've been right at home in an arcade back in the day. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]