Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Legacy of Flower

by qbicfeet - Compo Entry

A game tangentially related to Growing, with 2 button controls.

You're an unfortunate flower stuck hundreds of meters below the ground and you want nothing but to see the sun again again. *You* might never get out, but your children may!

Shoot your seed and have it land safely to spawn a child who carries on your legacy. Shooting your seed kills you and leaves your withered body behind and if the seed is destroyed, your bloodline ends here and now.

This game uses only two controls; the left and right arrow keys.
- When idle, hit both left+right simultaneously to take aim.
- When aiming, use the left and right arrow keys to decrease/increase your shot strength, and hit left+right simultaneously to shoot.
- If on the game over screen, hit left to restart the entire game or right to restart the current level.

The game only has two levels, but I'm liking this concept so I might continue working on it after the jam.

Legacy of Flower was made entirely in PICO-8. Special thanks to @zep for making such an incredibly fun fantasy console!

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#49Innovation4.00
#76Fun3.83
#83Overall3.87
#92Theme4.20
#127Graphics3.90
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

trueboolean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:02am

Nice job! I like the concept!

RhythmLynx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:02am

I really like the graphics and camera movement. The controls are also really well thought-out.

NuSan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:52am

Cool game, I like the idea and the throw motion. I think the left+right action to start aiming could have been automated. Keep up the good work

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Pretty difficult, given how random the platforms spawn, but otherwise a pretty damn interesting game!

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:34pm

5/5 from me! Everything is good about it! This one could be a hit on mobile platforms, but with simplified controls probably. But for the jam, it's great! Loved it. :)

seththefirst says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:34pm

The concept is very nice.
But I had a lot of problem with the left+right thing. I agree with NuSan, when we says that this could be automated.

dmecke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Very nice idea, as NuSan said, the start to aim should maybe be automatic, I always feared that I could press the wrong button and shoot by error.

shanton says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Very fun and innovative game, well done, nice graphics and pretty good sound

gkxd says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Really cool idea, and nice graphics. Sound effects were nice, but it could've really used some background music.

One thing that I'd point out is that since I pretty much always want to launch when I landed, the game would be more fun for me if the launching circle automatically popped up without having to press left+right.

qbicfeet says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Regarding the manual aim: Point taken, in hindsight I probably should have automated it. Originally, the idea was that you were supposed to be able to use the arrow keys to scroll the camera up/down and preview the level before taking aim, but I didn't have time to implement it.

@aamatniekss: I'm really happy you think it could work as a mobile game, I started feeling there was some "mobile-game appeal" to it mid-development so I'm glad to know I'm not crazy :)

Pusty says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Wasn't able to get pass 74.
Really good! Had fun with it :D

Optimus6128 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Nice entry. Good idea for two (simultaneous) buttons. I didn't got it first time, bouncing on walls, but then I got better at it. Haven't reached the end yet.

oxysoft says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:46am

cool game, nothing very innovative but it was still entertaining for a bit. If only I didn't have to restart all over again after I died in the lava/fire level.

walaber says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:43am

great job, very interesting control scheme with the limitation of only 2 inputs. fun theme and overall execution.

Natman says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:29pm

This is quite difficult! I enjoy the little visual flourishes when the new flower appears, and the way the old ones are wilted.

<3 PICO-8 <3

fafastudio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Your concept is very interesting !
All the interface is very neat, and the inscructions were pretty clear.

A real good game =)

Nicolas Gass says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Best Game ! Really loved this game <3 . 5/5

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Cool game. Maybe it could have different mechanics or thing to make the gameplay attractive

lawendt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Good job!

thesquigglez says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:15am

great game! loved seeing your posts on the home page during the jam and the game turned out great!

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:20pm

Good idea + good execution = neat!

Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Pssst - you are in today's LUDUM DARE TO BELIEVE! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KW3u_aFLXVA

caryoscelus says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:46am

Really nice idea, but too hard, imo.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Completed =)
Challenging game but awesome! Love the game mechanic =)
Also the fact that you always choose to get forwrad slightly on visible platform or risk and BOOM at long distance.

Docjekyll says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:21am

Nice, simple concept. Well executed.
I was especially glad to see that it kicked up a notch later on, requiring a bit more finesse from the player.

The only real complaint I have is the choice of key bindings on the game over screen. Several times I would get past the checkpoint and then press [left], accidentally returning to the very beginning and invalidating the checkpoint. That in particular was _extremely_ frustrating.

But like I said, apart from that it's a really great LD entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]