Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

CICP : the Center for Interplanetary Pest Control

by Robber - Jam Entry

Center for Interplanetary Pest Control

use the 'Left' and 'Right' keys to select your preferred TeslaCoil
and save the planet from the ever-growing, all consuming megaworms.

code, gfx and music by Robber

wish i had more time..hope you like it, please leave a comment.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#106Innovation(Jam)3.79
#123Graphics(Jam)4.21
#212Audio(Jam)3.56
#225Theme(Jam)4.00
#258Mood(Jam)3.55
#325Overall(Jam)3.52
#547Fun(Jam)3.12
#585Humor(Jam)2.54

Comments

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:22am

Super polished game, but the gameplay is kinda slow.

davesoft says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Very nice! A bit slow at first but the style and theme is lovely :D

Shurty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:16pm

nice clean game ! i didnt like the audio (too mmuch repetive for me) but the overall is nice !

Big Cow says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Wow the graphics hit you and you go woah that's cool! Music carries the mood, it wasn't quite clear what was happening but got it in the end. Well done great job!

Chewie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Great setting & use of theme! Love it! You've done good job with this game ;)

monetai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:45pm

I love the art style and the interpretation of the theme, but the game is note very fun at the beginning.. Good Job!!

paraboxx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Nice one, I like the music and style.

Davision says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Nice look and cool concept but gameplay falls rather flat mainly because you wait most of the time. Also it seems you could just randomly cycle through all the towers while powersurge is active to shoot all the towers and destroy worms wherever you could.

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Well done! I saw you submit this on Alvaro_as's stream and decided to give it a go! The graphics were awesome, the music EXISTED, which isn't common in these games. I thought the worms themselves were particularly cool.

Robber says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:33pm

thanx!

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:30am

This game has one of the most solid and original presentations I've seen so far. Obviously, I'm talking from personal preference.

I think a couple of tweaks on the visual side - making the UI tighter, things a bit more clear and getting rid of the text - would go a long way to make this game even more awesome. This is one of my personal favorites so far, even if it is pretty simple, I can see a lot of promise in it!

ShaunJS says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Good job!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Great music. Loved the idea. Would like to see some depth added

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:01am

Very good looking game! Loved the audio and visuals, and it was cool to see the coils get built as the game progressed. Eventually found an easy win in cycling through each coil as it fired, but it was still entertaining to see everything that was going on.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Easy Gameplay, little bit confusing.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:15am

Very great game the music was quite amazing! But it seems like the worms are having more fun.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:44am

Felt great killing those biaatchss! Thank you!

Eingya says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:51am

Took a while to understand the mechanic. UI definitelly needs work, as it's too "divided".

Love the immediacy of the planet/health systems.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:45am

I loved the aesthetic and style you've locked down. The planet and core were really pretty to look at. Loved the subtle effects like the core glowing. Watching the worms carve their trail into the planet was really fun. I was really impressed with the music, you captured a retro sci-fi feel which worked perfectly.

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:14am

I really enjoyed the game. Very fascinating stuff. I can see that a lot of great work was put into this. Great job!

wilsk says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Neat looking and unique game. Would probably be more fun without the two button theme so you could add a few more gameplay elements! Looks very polished for only a few days work though.

rnlf says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Dude, that soundtrack! Totally loving it. Can we get a OST download?

This is one of the good Unity games in LD and they are rather rare!

It was a bit too random in the beginning (lost about 1/4 of celestial stability before one work even came close to one of my coils), but still fun!

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:18pm

I like it, but it needs more gameplay and less text.

Wevel says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Great game, love the music and how the mega worms slowly destroy the planet.

Hegemege says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:01pm

That was great fun, although spamming left or right could kill all the worms pretty quickly :P

Awesome soundtrack too!

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Graphics, audio and mood are all superb. But the gameplay is a bit on the slow side. Still enjoyed saving the planet though.

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Love the voxel graphics, great presentation overall. Wish there was a bit more player agency in the gameplay. There's not a lot you can do before more tesla coils are built. Not bad though!

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:06pm

You did a good work on those voxels! Congrats!
It took a while to notice the game is not selection based but time based.
The music matches that Science Fiction feeling

piper82 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:05pm

i did not realize you can switch coils until the end. very nice entry all around.

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:46am

Great voxel artstyle, and audio. But gameplay is really strange. Good luck ^_^

Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:34am

Cool game. Took me a while to realize the tesla coil would only fire every so often, and the initial wait threw me off a bit. Pretty simple once I got it. Really like the graphical presentation. Nice job.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:13pm

The concept and the execution are great! I like the giants badass worms :) Maybe the game is a little too slow but I enjoyed it! good job!

Jod says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:29pm

That was really enjoyable! Great music, lovely graphics. It felt a bit like cheating to quickly cycle through stations when the laser was discharging, but it worked!

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:12am

I like the graphics and all these worms but not the game-play. It's too slow and without enough control.
The audio could have helped the game-play, it miss me a sound to inform me about the charge, a sound for the shoot and a sound when hit worms.

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:13am

Nice game. Cool graphics and I really liked the intro. I think you could improve on the gameplay. Its a bit dull. Anyway, congrats!

Krafty says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 12:35am

This game was a lot of fun! Not too hard, maybe you should add upgrades or something like that to make the gameplay a bit more fast-paced, although I understand the difficulty with keeping it under 2 buttons. Post-ludum dare updates dont need to, if you're thinking about continuing work on this!! :) Great graphics and music too!

EwChap says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:02am

Good game. Took a few to really get the hang of zapping the worms but once I got it down it was not too hard. Great work.

broknecho says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:41am

Definitely nice overall entry here! I think the two button controls hold this idea back though. Was hard to deal with the worms when they were moving in between the tesla coils and there was nothing I could do about it.

Definitely neat idea and presentation was really good.

emmes says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:22pm

Way cool voxel graphics at start, the rest is also pretty polished.

Jan 12, 2016 @ 9:25pm

Neat game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/lBXur6KZCzs

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]