Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Wonky Ship

by Slashee the Cow - Compo Entry

Controls:
W = Move (towards arrow)
Space = Shoot (in direction of cannon)

Instructions:
Press the move button (W/A on gamepad) to move in the direction of that green arrow thing.
Try not to get hit by all the bad guys coming to get you. Or their bullets.
Don't worry, you can shoot at them. See that red cannon spinning around you? Press space and you'll fire in whatever direction it's pointing.
Destroy enough of the bad guys and you'll get bigger and stronger! And that's sort of important, since they'll also get bigger, whether you do or not.

System Requirements
Not much. I don't know for sure. But almost anything should be able to run it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#147Theme4.11
#271Innovation3.48
#372Overall3.37
#418Audio2.77
#434Fun3.22
#620Humor2.04
#685Mood2.67
#688Graphics2.70

Comments

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:56pm

It is a fun and challenging game. It wreck my brains to control the direction of the ship but luckily button smashing is an efficient strategy. It might be nice to have power ups or something to slow down the spinning of the direction arrow or something to add more variety.

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:28pm

haha, nice entry, sick steering :D

adamyounis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:33am

I enjoyed this. That organ track was giving me some serious beach boys "good vibrations" vibes, which was a little weird but definitely not a bad thing. The controls were pretty cool and I didn't find myself getting too disoriented. Challenging but enjoyable :)

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:46am

hehe, the mechanic is strangle but fun... well done!

ranmaru90 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:22am

Hahaha. Need some time to get used to such controls. This game is quite fun!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:31am

Really cool controls! only thing I would suggest is possibly driving either movement/attack depending where the mouse is. :)

logon13 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:05am

Wave 23. Interesting control scheme

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:05am

Funny little game, the shooting sound get a bit annoying though, but maybe that was because I kept spamming the spacebar to shoot everything in a circle hahaha ^^

Small tip: Let the bullets come out of the cannon instead of the center of the ship?

Strike says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:07am

Interesting way of exploiting the themes and play around the 2 buttons constrain to still be able to move and shoot in any direction.

gogo199432 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Wow, this is the first time I see controls like that :D I liked it, makes the game very challenging. Good job mate ;)

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Cool little game. nice smooth controls, though when it gets hectic going wrong direction happens a lot :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:23pm

Well this actually got me playing for a while. Fun control scheme but once you get a little bigger you can just stay in the middle of the map and spam fire, your bullets are big enough to hit everything and you only have to worry about dodging.

Awesome execution, very funny, well done!

Cheers,
Ionut(Tyrants.not.found team)

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Interesting control! Easy to learn and fun. might be more fun if adding more environment variations, like some walls for hiding or blocking.

Zeriver says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Clever use of two buttons controll, makes game fun to play. In overall really solid game and entertaining.

BTW: You can get in the center of the map before next wave and spam space to get rid of most of the enemies, maybe some cooldown could be useful?

KZdev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Cool game! Pretty hard too, I like a challenge. Only made it wave 9 my first try.

OwT says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:13pm

I reached 39 wave and that's it, there was too much enemy to kill them, they didn't dissapear... Very nice game, I had a lot of fun with this, especially with that controls which gave me a lot of fun! Nice idea with theme, graphic is simple and cool, I enjoyed playing c:

Garris says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:11pm

I like the way you used the two button controls here! It made the game a little more challenging because the arrow and the cannon weren't pointing the same direction. I had a fun time playing. The graphics were pretty simple, but well executed, and the controls were smooth. Cool game!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:41pm

Interesting mechanic. I surprisingly got the hang of it very quickly, then found out that I can just keep spamming my cannon which made the game super easy. Really fun idea, but I would definitely put some limitations on that.

Blobo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Pretty nice game overall. it was easy to just button mash though.

Weloxux says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Very cleverly thought up controls, I keep mixing up shooting and moving direction!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]