Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

EGO

by Andreas Brandt - Jam Entry

Hello, this is my fourth LudumDare, and the second one with my wife, we are from Venezuela, and love to make random boring games, this time we didn't have much time (less than 10 hours in total), so we decided to make a super fast easy text base game, the idea is to grow the ego of a depressed alcoholic semi emo in a bar, saying compliments to him (in english and with good orthography, cases are not important), good luck, enjoy and comment something (good or bad, we don't care)

Used technology && programming lenguages = Angularjs, Nodejs, Javascript, JQuery (Almost nothing), Socket.io and Paint;

Development: Andreas Brandt (Me).
Design: Marianella Gasia (My lovely wife).

SOME HINTS: "Hi", "Hello", "Nice ...", "I Like your ...", "your ... is big"

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#428Innovation(Jam)3.26
#496Humor(Jam)2.67
#813Graphics(Jam)2.83
#918Mood(Jam)2.50
#1016Overall(Jam)2.65
#1026Theme(Jam)2.61
#1050Fun(Jam)2.22
#1727Coolness40%

Comments

dj_pale says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Very hard to decide what to write without any kind of hints. Only managed to get him up a couple of times

justinooncx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:37pm

By the gods, is this guy depressing. NOTHING I say to him seems to work. Now I'M depressed.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:05pm

Some hints added.

the31 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:21am

Just barely turned him into a soccer player. The hints helped, but those are some bizarre things to say.

bwatanabe says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:34am

Interesting concept. He didn't seem to respond to most of the things I typed in, though :-P

loxo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:36pm

I like the idea very much, sadly I couldn't cheer him up enough. I think it would be great if he would say something in response to find out more about him and to find ways to improve his mood.

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Nice game! Thanks for the hint. Had to give up after a while anyway. Would have been interesting to see how he would have ended up if I complemented him all the way!

Shurty says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Interesting idea. I think the guy needs more interaction like : you already said that (and the "life ?" bar goes down a bit)

adsilcott says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:42pm

I like games that actually make me care about a character. Very cool.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:28pm

I'm curious why you decided to go with a text box game? It seems like that would really need a lot of time to add in enough responses to make it work. With what it has, I can't really say it works, but that's clearly a matter of not having enough time to add content. Interesting idea, though!

Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:05pm

It was interesting to figure out what to say to him. I like that you cannot repeat the same thing over and over. I got stuck about halfway through though. I ran out of things to compliment him on. "South Park" gave him a huge boost though which was a nice Easter Egg.

caryoscelus says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:10pm

It feels like talking to dummy :D Too hard to get much responses though.

Geck0 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:27pm

lol

Diventurer says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:39pm

South Park style, lol. He got happy when I told him he had a big ****. Then I told him it was huge too, and he got happier. After that though, he didn't really respond to anything.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:47am

Nice concept. I had a nice talk with this attentive gentleman.

Dracir says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:16am

Make you feel good because it makes you try to make him feel good! But it's hard to find what he likes :/

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]